Kansas to Maine: journeyman electrician license reciprocity
Kansas does not issue a statewide journeyman electrician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Maine's standard path for out-of-state applicants.
Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.
Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.
Licensure by endorsement (states without a reciprocity agreement)
Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.
Under 10 M.R.S. §8003-H, 32 M.R.S. §1201-B and board rule Chapter 180 (effective July 22, 2024), a journeyman licensed in any other U.S. jurisdiction may be licensed by endorsement if that jurisdiction's initial-licensure pathway is substantially equivalent to Maine's: it must require an accredited electrical program or an approved course of at least 576 hours, a passing score on an approved journeyman examination, and at least 8,000 hours of electrical work under a licensed master or journeyman. The applicant must hold a valid, active license, be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed (no pending complaint, suspension, restriction, surrender or revocation), file the application and pay the Chapter 10 fee. No Maine trade or law examination is prescribed for endorsement. An applicant whose home state does not meet the Chapter 180 standard applies by examination under 32 M.R.S. §1202-B, where the board may accept comparable out-of-state experience toward the 8,000-hour requirement and may waive the 576-hour study requirement for reciprocity applicants.
Chapter 180 does not state a separate endorsement fee; the Chapter 10 journeyman license fee ($150, two years) and the $21 SBI criminal-history report shown on the board's journeyman page are the published amounts. Whether the board requires the 45-hour NEC course of endorsement applicants is not stated on any official page. Processing time is not published.
At a glance
- Trade exam
- Waived
- Law / code exam
- Not required
- Out-of-state hours
- Count toward eligibility
What you must already have
- Your Kansas license must be active and in good standing.
- You must have no disciplinary action or unresolved complaints on your record.
- Origin jurisdiction's journeyman pathway must require an accredited electrical program or a 576-hour approved course, a passing score on an approved journeyman exam, and 8,000 hours of supervised electrical work (02-318 CMR ch. 180 s. 2)
- You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Required by the origin jurisdiction's pathway under Chapter 180; for the examination route the board may credit comparable experience acceptable to it (32 M.R.S. §1202-B).
What you'll do to get licensed in Maine
- 1License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($150). Journeyman Electrician license fee, two-year term (02-041 CMR ch. 10 s. 5(15)).
- 2Background check. Complete a background check ($21). State Bureau of Identification criminal history record report required of all applicants.
- 3Other. Completed application with proof of the valid, active out-of-state license (license verification from the issuing board).
Published fees on this path total $150, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.
How Maine licenses journeyman electricians
Maine journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician”
Statewide license
Issued by Maine Electricians' Examining Board (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation)
Maine issues a statewide Journeyman Electrician license through the Electricians' Examining Board within the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). A new applicant qualifies with 8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice or helper plus a 576-hour course of study (or one of the school and college pathways in 32 M.R.S. §1202-B), completes a 45-hour NEC course, and passes the Prov-administered journeyman exam ($90). The license costs $150 for a two-year term plus a $21 State Bureau of Identification criminal-history report. Maine recognizes out-of-state journeymen two ways: a reciprocity license without examination for states that have a formal agreement with the board (New Hampshire, Vermont, North Dakota, Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming on the licensing page and application form; the board's FAQ now also names Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey and Rhode Island), and, since July 2024, licensure by endorsement under board rule Chapter 180 for any other U.S. state whose journeyman requirements are substantially equivalent.
Why Kansas has nothing to transfer
Kansas journeyman electrician
Licensed by cities and counties
Kansas has no state electrician license and no state electrical board. State law (K.S.A. 12-1525 to 12-1527) only sets a framework for the counties and cities that choose to license electricians: it names the ICC, IAPMO and Prometric standard exams as the competency tests, requires a 75% passing score, two years of supervised field experience for a journeyman or residential certificate (up to one year creditable from at least 930 hours of trade school), and continuing education of 12 hours every two years. A certificate of competency earned by passing one of those standard exams is valid proof of competency in every Kansas county or city that licenses electricians, without retesting, but a license based on a local alternative exam is good only in the issuing jurisdiction unless it has a reciprocal agreement. Sedgwick County/Wichita (MABCD), Kansas City, Kansas (Unified Government), Lawrence and other cities license journeymen; Johnson County licenses electrical contractors through a master-level qualifying individual and does not issue journeyman cards. There is no reciprocity with other states: MABCD states it does not reciprocate with state testing, and the only portable credential is a passing score on a Kansas Standard ICC (or, in some jurisdictions, national ICC, Prometric or IAPMO) journeyman exam, which an out-of-state electrician can usually submit in place of retesting.
How local licensing works in Kansas
How local licensing works. Kansas issues no personal electrician license. K.S.A. 12-1526 lets any county or city that requires electrician licensure administer the K.S.A. 12-1525 standard exams (ICC, IAPMO, Prometric), with a 75% minimum, uniform fees, two years of field experience under a certified electrician for a journeyman certificate (one year may be trade school of at least 930 program hours), and 12 hours of CE every two years. The resulting certificate of competency is valid in every licensing jurisdiction in Kansas without further examination, subject to each jurisdiction's experience check and fees. K.S.A. 12-1527 allows local alternative exams, but licenses earned on them stop at the jurisdiction line.
Sedgwick County and Wichita (MABCD). The Metropolitan Area Building and Construction Department issues journeyman electrician certificates to applicants with one year of field experience plus one year of electrical trade school, or two years of field experience (documented on company letterhead), who score 75% on ICC exam 558 or KGH Journeyman Electrician (565/KGX for residential only). New certificate $35; two-year term; renewal $35 with six trade-specific and six general CEUs. 'MABCD does not reciprocate with state testing, only those exams listed are approved for Sedgwick County', so an out-of-state journeyman must show one of the listed ICC scores (Block, Experior, Prometric, ICC and IAPMO testing facilities are recognized).
Johnson County (Olathe, Overland Park, Lenexa, Shawnee and other participating cities). Johnson County Contractor Licensing issues company licenses only, including the Class DE Electrical license ($100 application plus $225 per license type), qualified by a Qualifying Individual who passed the ICC Standard Master Electrician exam (554/KGD). There is no county journeyman license.
Kansas City, Kansas (Unified Government of Wyandotte County). Building Inspections licenses trade masters, who must hold a master's license (Prometric testing arranged through the department), and requires a city occupational tax license for contractors and subcontractors; the published pages do not describe a journeyman license, its fees or any reciprocity.
Lawrence. Planning and Development Services certifies journeyman electricians with two years of practical field experience (engineering degree counts 2.5 years, vocational training one year) who pass the K.S.A. standard exam with 75%; exam application $50, license $20, renewal $10, six hours of CE per year. A certificate of competency from another Kansas jurisdiction is the accepted standard for licensure.
Out-of-state holders. No Kansas jurisdiction found publishes a reciprocity agreement with another state. An out-of-state journeyman who has already passed an ICC journeyman exam (Kansas Standard or, where the jurisdiction allows, national) can submit that score with experience documentation; anyone else takes the ICC/Prometric exam through the local sponsoring jurisdiction and then benefits from statewide portability of the certificate.
Common questions
- Do I have to take the Maine journeyman electrician exam if I'm licensed in Kansas?
- No. The trade exam is waived on this path.
- What does it cost to get a Maine journeyman electrician license from Kansas?
- Published fees on this path total $150, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
- Do my Kansas work hours count in Maine?
- Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Maine's eligibility requirements.
- Does it work the other way, from Maine to Kansas?
- Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Maine to Kansas, the mechanism is not applicable.
Sources
- Electricians' Examining Board - Examinations (Prov, Inc.) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026Maine contracts with Prov, Inc. to administer licensing exams; applicants must receive board approval before sitting for an exam; links to the Candidate Information Bulletin.
- Electricians' Examining Board - Frequently Asked Questions (reciprocity answers by license type) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Faq · verified September 15, 2026Master: 'Maine has an agreement with New Hampshire, Massachussets, Rhode Island and Vermont.' Journeyman: 'Maine has an agreement with New Hampshire, Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Rhode Island Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, North Dakota and Vermont'; reciprocity application fee $171.00; proof of licensure must be mailed with the application. Limited, helper and apprentice: no reciprocity. Archived copies of this page from January 2024 through January 2026 listed only NH/VT (master) and NH/OR/ID/WY/ND/VT (journeyman), so the additional states were added during 2026.
- Electricians' Examining Board - Journeyman Electrician licensing requirements, fees and reciprocity · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026Lists the four journeyman qualification pathways (8,000 hours plus 576 hours of study, etc.), the fee table (license $150, SBI criminal history report $21, biennial renewal $150) and the reciprocity paragraph: licensed in a state with a reciprocity agreement, passed that state's written exam, actively engaged as an electrician for a minimum of six years; reciprocal states New Hampshire, Vermont, North Dakota, Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming.
- 02-041 CMR Chapter 10 - OPOR Establishment of License Fees, section 5(15) Electricians' Examining Board · 02-041 CMR ch. 10 s. 5(15) · Maine Secretary of State / Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · Admin Rule · verified September 15, 2026Fee table for the Electricians' Examining Board: Master $150 (2 years), Journeyman $150 (2 years), Limited $150, Journeyman-in-training $150, Helper $25, Apprentice $25, individuals 70 or older $20; examination fee paid to the third-party vendor; late renewal more than 90 days $50.
- State of Maine OPOR Candidate Information Bulletin (Prov, MOPOR-2025.05.14) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation / Prov, Inc. · Other · verified September 15, 2026Examination categories and cost: Master Electrician $90, Journeyman Electrician $90, Limited Electrician categories $65. Journeyman exam is 100 questions in 4 hours.
- 02-318 CMR Chapter 180 - Electricians' Examining Board: Licensure by Endorsement · 02-318 CMR ch. 180 (eff. July 22, 2024) · Maine Secretary of State / Electricians' Examining Board · Admin Rule · verified September 15, 2026Effective July 22, 2024 (filing 2024-166). Applicant must hold a valid, active electrician license from a U.S. jurisdiction with 'substantially equivalent license requirements', file the application and pay the Chapter 10 fee. Substantially equivalent means the origin jurisdiction's initial-licensure pathway requires, for journeyman: an accredited electrical program or a 576-hour approved course, a passing score on an approved journeyman exam, and 8,000 hours under a licensed master or journeyman; for master: the same education, an approved master exam, and 10,000 hours under a higher-level licensee. Good standing in all jurisdictions required. No Maine examination is listed.
- 10 M.R.S. s. 8003-H - Licensure by endorsement (OPOR general provision) · 10 M.R.S. s. 8003-H · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026An applicant licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction with substantially equivalent license requirements who is in good standing everywhere licensed (no pending complaint, suspension or revocation) and pays the fee may be licensed by endorsement; a jurisprudence exam may be required. This is the framework a fuel technician arriving from another state would use; it does not create any HVAC license.
- 32 MRSA §1201-B - Licensure by endorsement · 32 M.R.S. §1201-B · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026Directs the board to establish a licensure-by-endorsement process under 10 M.R.S. §8003-H for each license it determines appropriate; applicants may use the endorsement process or any other licensure process in the chapter. Enacted PL 2021, c. 642.
- 32 MRSA §1202-B - Issuance and scope of licenses (journeyman and master qualifications) · 32 M.R.S. §1202-B · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026Journeyman: 8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice or helper plus a 576-hour course (or listed school/college pathways), or comparable experience acceptable to the board; pass a board-approved exam; 45-hour NEC course within 2 years of application. Master: 12,000 hours as a licensed helper/apprentice, 4,000 hours as a journeyman, or 6,000 hours as a journeyman-in-training, plus 576 hours of study, or comparable experience; exam; 45-hour NEC course.
- 32 MRSA §1206 - Reciprocity · 32 M.R.S. §1206 · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026The board shall issue a license to a person licensed under the laws of another state who has been licensed and actively engaged in an electrician's work for a minimum of 8,000 hours, as long as that state has licensing standards and experience requirements at least equivalent to Maine's and grants similar privileges to Maine licensees. Reciprocal licenses may not be denied on the basis of residency; the board may waive the 576-hour study requirement. Last amended PL 2023, c. 327.
Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.