LicensebyState

Nevada to Maine: journeyman electrician license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 15, 2026· 10 sources

Nevada does not issue a statewide journeyman electrician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Maine's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Licensure by endorsement (states without a reciprocity agreement)

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

Under 10 M.R.S. §8003-H, 32 M.R.S. §1201-B and board rule Chapter 180 (effective July 22, 2024), a journeyman licensed in any other U.S. jurisdiction may be licensed by endorsement if that jurisdiction's initial-licensure pathway is substantially equivalent to Maine's: it must require an accredited electrical program or an approved course of at least 576 hours, a passing score on an approved journeyman examination, and at least 8,000 hours of electrical work under a licensed master or journeyman. The applicant must hold a valid, active license, be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed (no pending complaint, suspension, restriction, surrender or revocation), file the application and pay the Chapter 10 fee. No Maine trade or law examination is prescribed for endorsement. An applicant whose home state does not meet the Chapter 180 standard applies by examination under 32 M.R.S. §1202-B, where the board may accept comparable out-of-state experience toward the 8,000-hour requirement and may waive the 576-hour study requirement for reciprocity applicants.

Chapter 180 does not state a separate endorsement fee; the Chapter 10 journeyman license fee ($150, two years) and the $21 SBI criminal-history report shown on the board's journeyman page are the published amounts. Whether the board requires the 45-hour NEC course of endorsement applicants is not stated on any official page. Processing time is not published.

At a glance

Trade exam
Waived
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • Your Nevada license must be active and in good standing.
  • You must have no disciplinary action or unresolved complaints on your record.
  • Origin jurisdiction's journeyman pathway must require an accredited electrical program or a 576-hour approved course, a passing score on an approved journeyman exam, and 8,000 hours of supervised electrical work (02-318 CMR ch. 180 s. 2)
  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Required by the origin jurisdiction's pathway under Chapter 180; for the examination route the board may credit comparable experience acceptable to it (32 M.R.S. §1202-B).

What you'll do to get licensed in Maine

  1. 1License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($150). Journeyman Electrician license fee, two-year term (02-041 CMR ch. 10 s. 5(15)).
  2. 2Background check. Complete a background check ($21). State Bureau of Identification criminal history record report required of all applicants.
  3. 3Other. Completed application with proof of the valid, active out-of-state license (license verification from the issuing board).

Published fees on this path total $150, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

How Maine licenses journeyman electricians

Maine journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician

Statewide license

Verified September 15, 2026· 5 sources

Issued by Maine Electricians' Examining Board (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation)

Maine issues a statewide Journeyman Electrician license through the Electricians' Examining Board within the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). A new applicant qualifies with 8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice or helper plus a 576-hour course of study (or one of the school and college pathways in 32 M.R.S. §1202-B), completes a 45-hour NEC course, and passes the Prov-administered journeyman exam ($90). The license costs $150 for a two-year term plus a $21 State Bureau of Identification criminal-history report. Maine recognizes out-of-state journeymen two ways: a reciprocity license without examination for states that have a formal agreement with the board (New Hampshire, Vermont, North Dakota, Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming on the licensing page and application form; the board's FAQ now also names Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey and Rhode Island), and, since July 2024, licensure by endorsement under board rule Chapter 180 for any other U.S. state whose journeyman requirements are substantially equivalent.

Moving to MaineLeaving Maine

Why Nevada has nothing to transfer

Nevada journeyman electrician

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 15, 2026· 10 sources

Issued by Nevada State Contractors Board (contractor licensing only); journeyman cards issued at county/city level

Nevada has no statewide journeyman electrician license. The Nevada State Contractors Board (NSCB) licenses electrical contractors under classification C-2 (NRS/NAC 624) and states that it does not issue licenses to individual journeymen, so an out-of-state journeyman license has nothing to transfer to at the state level and is not required for employment by a licensed C-2 contractor in most of the state. Journeyman cards are instead required by local building codes in the urban jurisdictions: Clark County, the City of Las Vegas, the City of Henderson and the City of Reno all require a master electrician, electrical qualified individual or journeyman electrician to be on site for permitted electrical work, and their journeyman credential is a Nevada Electrical Qualifications Card obtained by passing the ICC national G17 Journeyman Electrician (or G18 Residential Electrician) exam at 70% and applying to Electrical Safety Professionals (ESP), the third-party card administrator, with 2,000 documented hours of electrical work or apprenticeship (a requirement added January 1, 2024). No jurisdiction publishes a waiver of the ICC exam for an out-of-state license; Clark County recognizes only certificates from its accepted testing agency or from other Nevada political subdivisions within the county, and Reno lets holders of a reciprocal license from another city, county, state or country work for 12 months inside the city before obtaining the Reno certification. Cards are valid three years and renewed with ESP continuing education.

How local licensing works in Nevada

How local licensing works. NRS Chapter 624 licenses only contractors; a C-2 Electrical Contracting license is issued to a business and qualified by an individual with four years of journeyman-or-higher experience, and the NSCB's own FAQ says Nevada does not license individual journeymen. Whether a working electrician needs a personal credential is decided by each county's or city's building administrative code. The southern Nevada jurisdictions and Reno run a common program: exams are the ICC National Electrician exams (G17 Journeyman Electrician, G18 Residential Electrician, G16 Master Electrician) taken through Pearson VUE, and photo ID cards are issued by Electrical Safety Professionals (ESP), the Nevada non-profit that took over the Clark County ID card program on September 1, 2019.

Clark County (unincorporated Las Vegas valley, Laughlin, Mesquite area). Clark County Code §22.02.250 requires the contractor to have a master electrician or electrical qualified individual, or a journeyman electrician, present in a supervisory capacity whenever permitted electrical work is under way. §22.02.255 defines a journeyman as someone who has passed the journeyman examination accepted by the Building Official; §22.02.260 lists Journeyman Electrician (all electrical work), Journeyman Residential Electrician (one- and two-family dwellings), Journeyman Sign Electrician and Technician (low voltage) categories and requires certificates to be kept current with the county's accepted third-party testing agency. The only equivalency in the code is for a current certificate from an accepted independent testing agency or from a political subdivision of Nevada within Clark County; there is no provision for other states' licenses. Since 2019 the accepted exam is the ICC G17/G18 and the card comes from ESP.

City of Las Vegas. The City of Las Vegas Administrative Code (2019 edition) §306 carries the same on-site supervision rule (master electrician or electrical qualified individual, or a journeyman electrician). The city uses the same ESP card as Clark County.

City of Henderson. ESP's program notice lists Henderson among the municipalities that require at least a journeyman electrical card for installing electrical systems; Henderson's own building pages could not be opened for this record, so its ordinance text is unverified.

City of Reno (Washoe County). Reno Municipal Code Title 14 prohibits electrical installations, alterations or additions unless done by a person holding a valid journeyman certificate, with exceptions for homeowners, licensed contractors under direct supervision arrangements, and contractors with reciprocal licenses from another city, county, state or country, who must obtain the Reno certification after 12 months of work in the city. The ICC G17 or G18 exam needs no pre-approval; the applicant then sends the score report to ESP for a card valid three years.

ESP card requirements (all of the above). Pass the ICC exam (70% journeyman, 75% master); since January 1, 2024 a new card also needs 2,000 documented hours of electrical work or apprenticeship; renewal every three years with 15 CEU hours for journeymen (30 for masters) including an 8-hour NEC update class; a card expired more than one year requires re-examination. ESP's card and exam fees are not published on the official jurisdiction pages and were not verified.

Out-of-state holders. None of these jurisdictions publish a reciprocity or endorsement path for a journeyman license from another state. Reno's 12-month grace period for reciprocal licenses is the only accommodation found. In practice an arriving journeyman takes the ICC G17 exam once and obtains the ESP card, which is honored by Clark County, Las Vegas, Henderson and Reno. Rural counties and Carson City were not surveyed.

Moving to NevadaLeaving Nevada

Common questions

Do I have to take the Maine journeyman electrician exam if I'm licensed in Nevada?
No. The trade exam is waived on this path.
What does it cost to get a Maine journeyman electrician license from Nevada?
Published fees on this path total $150, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Nevada work hours count in Maine?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Maine's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Maine to Nevada?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Maine to Nevada, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. Electricians' Examining Board - Examinations (Prov, Inc.) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026Maine contracts with Prov, Inc. to administer licensing exams; applicants must receive board approval before sitting for an exam; links to the Candidate Information Bulletin.
  2. Electricians' Examining Board - Frequently Asked Questions (reciprocity answers by license type) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Faq · verified September 15, 2026Master: 'Maine has an agreement with New Hampshire, Massachussets, Rhode Island and Vermont.' Journeyman: 'Maine has an agreement with New Hampshire, Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, Rhode Island Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, North Dakota and Vermont'; reciprocity application fee $171.00; proof of licensure must be mailed with the application. Limited, helper and apprentice: no reciprocity. Archived copies of this page from January 2024 through January 2026 listed only NH/VT (master) and NH/OR/ID/WY/ND/VT (journeyman), so the additional states were added during 2026.
  3. Electricians' Examining Board - Journeyman Electrician licensing requirements, fees and reciprocity · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026Lists the four journeyman qualification pathways (8,000 hours plus 576 hours of study, etc.), the fee table (license $150, SBI criminal history report $21, biennial renewal $150) and the reciprocity paragraph: licensed in a state with a reciprocity agreement, passed that state's written exam, actively engaged as an electrician for a minimum of six years; reciprocal states New Hampshire, Vermont, North Dakota, Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming.
  4. 02-041 CMR Chapter 10 - OPOR Establishment of License Fees, section 5(15) Electricians' Examining Board · 02-041 CMR ch. 10 s. 5(15) · Maine Secretary of State / Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · Admin Rule · verified September 15, 2026Fee table for the Electricians' Examining Board: Master $150 (2 years), Journeyman $150 (2 years), Limited $150, Journeyman-in-training $150, Helper $25, Apprentice $25, individuals 70 or older $20; examination fee paid to the third-party vendor; late renewal more than 90 days $50.
  5. State of Maine OPOR Candidate Information Bulletin (Prov, MOPOR-2025.05.14) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation / Prov, Inc. · Other · verified September 15, 2026Examination categories and cost: Master Electrician $90, Journeyman Electrician $90, Limited Electrician categories $65. Journeyman exam is 100 questions in 4 hours.
  6. 02-318 CMR Chapter 180 - Electricians' Examining Board: Licensure by Endorsement · 02-318 CMR ch. 180 (eff. July 22, 2024) · Maine Secretary of State / Electricians' Examining Board · Admin Rule · verified September 15, 2026Effective July 22, 2024 (filing 2024-166). Applicant must hold a valid, active electrician license from a U.S. jurisdiction with 'substantially equivalent license requirements', file the application and pay the Chapter 10 fee. Substantially equivalent means the origin jurisdiction's initial-licensure pathway requires, for journeyman: an accredited electrical program or a 576-hour approved course, a passing score on an approved journeyman exam, and 8,000 hours under a licensed master or journeyman; for master: the same education, an approved master exam, and 10,000 hours under a higher-level licensee. Good standing in all jurisdictions required. No Maine examination is listed.
  7. 10 M.R.S. s. 8003-H - Licensure by endorsement (OPOR general provision) · 10 M.R.S. s. 8003-H · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026An applicant licensed in another U.S. jurisdiction with substantially equivalent license requirements who is in good standing everywhere licensed (no pending complaint, suspension or revocation) and pays the fee may be licensed by endorsement; a jurisprudence exam may be required. This is the framework a fuel technician arriving from another state would use; it does not create any HVAC license.
  8. 32 MRSA §1201-B - Licensure by endorsement · 32 M.R.S. §1201-B · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026Directs the board to establish a licensure-by-endorsement process under 10 M.R.S. §8003-H for each license it determines appropriate; applicants may use the endorsement process or any other licensure process in the chapter. Enacted PL 2021, c. 642.
  9. 32 MRSA §1202-B - Issuance and scope of licenses (journeyman and master qualifications) · 32 M.R.S. §1202-B · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026Journeyman: 8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice or helper plus a 576-hour course (or listed school/college pathways), or comparable experience acceptable to the board; pass a board-approved exam; 45-hour NEC course within 2 years of application. Master: 12,000 hours as a licensed helper/apprentice, 4,000 hours as a journeyman, or 6,000 hours as a journeyman-in-training, plus 576 hours of study, or comparable experience; exam; 45-hour NEC course.
  10. 32 MRSA §1206 - Reciprocity · 32 M.R.S. §1206 · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026The board shall issue a license to a person licensed under the laws of another state who has been licensed and actively engaged in an electrician's work for a minimum of 8,000 hours, as long as that state has licensing standards and experience requirements at least equivalent to Maine's and grants similar privileges to Maine licensees. Reciprocal licenses may not be denied on the basis of residency; the board may waive the 576-hour study requirement. Last amended PL 2023, c. 327.

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related