LicensebyState

Ohio to Maine: journeyman electrician license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 15, 2026· 10 sources

Ohio does not issue a statewide journeyman electrician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Maine's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Licensure by endorsement (states without a reciprocity agreement)

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

Under 10 M.R.S. §8003-H, 32 M.R.S. §1201-B and board rule Chapter 180 (effective July 22, 2024), a journeyman licensed in any other U.S. jurisdiction may be licensed by endorsement if that jurisdiction's initial-licensure pathway is substantially equivalent to Maine's: it must require an accredited electrical program or an approved course of at least 576 hours, a passing score on an approved journeyman examination, and at least 8,000 hours of electrical work under a licensed master or journeyman. The applicant must hold a valid, active license, be in good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed (no pending complaint, suspension, restriction, surrender or revocation), file the application and pay the Chapter 10 fee. No Maine trade or law examination is prescribed for endorsement. An applicant whose home state does not meet the Chapter 180 standard applies by examination under 32 M.R.S. §1202-B, where the board may accept comparable out-of-state experience toward the 8,000-hour requirement and may waive the 576-hour study requirement for reciprocity applicants.

Chapter 180 does not state a separate endorsement fee; the Chapter 10 journeyman license fee ($150, two years) and the $21 SBI criminal-history report shown on the board's journeyman page are the published amounts. Whether the board requires the 45-hour NEC course of endorsement applicants is not stated on any official page. Processing time is not published.

At a glance

Trade exam
Waived
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • Your Ohio license must be active and in good standing.
  • You must have no disciplinary action or unresolved complaints on your record.
  • Origin jurisdiction's journeyman pathway must require an accredited electrical program or a 576-hour approved course, a passing score on an approved journeyman exam, and 8,000 hours of supervised electrical work (02-318 CMR ch. 180 s. 2)
  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Required by the origin jurisdiction's pathway under Chapter 180; for the examination route the board may credit comparable experience acceptable to it (32 M.R.S. §1202-B).

What you'll do to get licensed in Maine

  1. 1License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($150). Journeyman Electrician license fee, two-year term (02-041 CMR ch. 10 s. 5(15)).
  2. 2Background check. Complete a background check ($21). State Bureau of Identification criminal history record report required of all applicants.
  3. 3Other. Completed application with proof of the valid, active out-of-state license (license verification from the issuing board).

Published fees on this path total $150, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

How Maine licenses journeyman electricians

Maine journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician”

Statewide license

Verified September 15, 2026· 5 sources

Issued by Maine Electricians' Examining Board (Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation)

Maine issues a statewide Journeyman Electrician license through the Electricians' Examining Board within the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR). A new applicant qualifies with 8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice or helper plus a 576-hour course of study (or one of the school and college pathways in 32 M.R.S. §1202-B), completes a 45-hour NEC course, and passes the Prov-administered journeyman exam ($90). The license costs $150 for a two-year term plus a $21 State Bureau of Identification criminal-history report. Maine recognizes out-of-state journeymen two ways: a reciprocity license without examination for states that have a formal agreement with the board (New Hampshire, Vermont, North Dakota, Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming on the licensing page and application form; the board's FAQ now also names Connecticut, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey and Rhode Island), and, since July 2024, licensure by endorsement under board rule Chapter 180 for any other U.S. state whose journeyman requirements are substantially equivalent.

Moving to MaineLeaving Maine

Compare: getting a Maine license from scratch

Why Ohio has nothing to transfer

Ohio journeyman electrician

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 15, 2026· 7 sources

Issued by No state authority; Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board licenses contractors only

Ohio does not issue a journeyman electrician license. The Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB) licenses individual electrical contractors for commercial work, and R.C. 4740.01 defines everyone else on the job as a 'tradesperson' employed by a contractor, with no state license or card. Where a personal journeyman credential exists it comes from a city ordinance: Toledo examines and licenses Journeyman and Residential Journeyman Electricians through its Division of Building Inspection and registers 'traveler' journeymen from other jurisdictions, while Cincinnati and Hamilton only register contractors (a 'Master Registration' in Hamilton) and do not license individual electricians. An out-of-state journeyman license has no state-level recognition in Ohio; it is useful only as proof of experience when a city requires it, or as one of the documents OCILB accepts (an active journeyman's card) toward the five-year experience requirement for the state contractor exam.

How local licensing works in Ohio

How local licensing works. Ohio's contractor licensing statute (R.C. Chapter 4740) covers only the individual electrical contractor license issued by OCILB and does not license tradespersons; any journeyman requirement is local. Most large cities require only that electrical work be done by or under a state-licensed contractor who has registered with the city.

Toledo. The Division of Building Inspection issues Journeyman Electrician and Residential Journeyman licenses after an examination ($100 exam fee), with proof of graduation from an apprenticeship program with 8,000 hours or an equivalent qualification (a journeyman certificate earned by testing in another city jurisdiction, completion of a recognized apprenticeship, or four years in the electrical construction industry). A Traveler Journeyman registration ($100) is available with the same documentation, and apprentices register for $25. Licenses renew annually by December 31.

Cincinnati. Contractors performing work in the city must hold a contractor registration under Municipal Code Chapter 1106 ($131.25 per year including surcharges); registration of state-licensed contractors runs until the state license expires. Toledo's application does accept a journeyman certificate obtained by testing in another city jurisdiction as a qualification to sit for (or register for) its exam.

Moving to OhioLeaving Ohio

Common questions

Do I have to take the Maine journeyman electrician exam if I'm licensed in Ohio?
No. The trade exam is waived on this path.
What does it cost to get a Maine journeyman electrician license from Ohio?
Published fees on this path total $150, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Ohio work hours count in Maine?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Maine's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Maine to Ohio?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Maine to Ohio, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. Electricians' Examining Board - Examinations (Prov, Inc.) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  2. Electricians' Examining Board - Frequently Asked Questions (reciprocity answers by license type) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Faq · verified September 15, 2026
  3. Electricians' Examining Board - Journeyman Electrician licensing requirements, fees and reciprocity · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation (OPOR) · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  4. 02-041 CMR Chapter 10 - OPOR Establishment of License Fees, section 5(29) Plumbers' Examining Board · 02-041 CMR ch. 10 §5(29) · Maine Secretary of State / Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation · Admin Rule · verified September 23, 2026
  5. State of Maine OPOR Candidate Information Bulletin (Prov, MOPOR-2025.05.14) · Maine Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation / Prov, Inc. · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  6. 02-318 CMR Chapter 180 - Electricians' Examining Board: Licensure by Endorsement · 02-318 CMR ch. 180 (eff. July 22, 2024) · Maine Secretary of State / Electricians' Examining Board · Admin Rule · verified September 15, 2026
  7. 10 M.R.S. §8003-H - Licensure by endorsement (OPOR general provision) · 10 M.R.S. §8003-H · Maine Legislature, Office of the Revisor of Statutes · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  8. 32 MRSA §1201-B - Licensure by endorsement · 32 M.R.S. §1201-B · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026
  9. 32 MRSA §1202-B - Issuance and scope of licenses (journeyman and master qualifications) · 32 M.R.S. §1202-B · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 23, 2026
  10. 32 MRSA §1206 - Reciprocity · 32 M.R.S. §1206 · Maine Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related