LicensebyState

South Carolina to Alabama: journeyman electrician license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 15, 2026· 5 sources

South Carolina does not issue a statewide journeyman electrician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Alabama's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Examination with documented out-of-state experience (all states other than Texas)

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

The Board publishes no endorsement process for journeymen from states other than Texas; §34-36-7(b) lets the Board recognize licenses from states with equal or higher standards, but only the states on its reciprocal list qualify and Texas is the sole journeyman partner. An out-of-state journeyman therefore files the Electrical Journeyman Examination Application (JCE-1) and documents a minimum of 8,000 hours of electrical installation experience by notarized employer affidavits with matching W-2 or 1099 forms (or a registered apprenticeship work affidavit); the forms do not restrict the employer to Alabama, so experience earned elsewhere is credited. Up to 2,000 of the 8,000 hours may be substituted with approved education or apprenticeship (1,000 hours per year). The applicant then passes the Alabama journeyman exam or the NASCLA Portable Journeyman exam through Prov ($115) and applies for the license with form EC-1 and the $35 license fee. Alabama has no separate law or business exam for journeymen.

Exam approvals expire two years after approval if the exam has not been passed (303-X-3-.03(4)). Whether the Board accepts a NASCLA Portable Journeyman score earned in another state in lieu of sitting the exam again is not stated in the board's published materials; the forms page says the NASCLA exam is accepted 'to qualify for reciprocal licensing' only in the electrical contractor context.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Installation of electrical wiring, apparatus or equipment for lighting, power or controls, documented by notarized employer affidavits; up to 2,000 hours may come from approved education or apprenticeship (303-X-3-.03).

What you'll do to get licensed in Alabama

  1. 1Exam fee. Pay the exam fee ($115). Journeyman Electrician examination fee (Alabama exam or NASCLA Portable J exam via Prov), non-refundable.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. Alabama Journeyman Electrician exam administered by Prov (2023 NEC; 2026 NEC from January 1, 2027).
  3. 3License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($35). Journeyman Electrician license fee (form EC-1); annual renewal $35.
  4. 4Other. Notarized Affidavit of Employment (JCE-4) from each employer with corresponding W-2 or 1099 forms, or DOL registered apprenticeship Work Affidavit (JCE-5).

Published fees on this path total $150, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Exam fee · $115
  • Trade exam

How Alabama licenses journeyman electricians

Alabama journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician”

State license plus local requirements

Verified September 15, 2026· 5 sources

Issued by Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors

Alabama issues a statewide Journeyman Electrician license through the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors. A new applicant must document at least 8,000 hours of experience installing electrical wiring, apparatus or equipment (up to 2,000 hours may be substituted with approved education or apprenticeship) and pass the journeyman exam administered by Prov, either the Alabama exam or the NASCLA Portable Journeyman exam ($115 either way); the license fee is $35 and it renews annually for $35. Exams currently reference the 2023 NEC and will move to the 2026 NEC on January 1, 2027. Alabama law also lets counties and municipalities license and examine journeymen for work inside their boundaries, but a statewide Board license is deemed qualifying in every county and municipality, and journeymen employed by a Board licensee are exempt from local licensing. The Board's only journeyman reciprocity partner is Texas; every other out-of-state journeyman must qualify by documented experience and take the Alabama exam.

How local licensing works in Alabama

Ala. Code §34-36-13(a) requires a journeyman to hold a license 'from the board or from the county or municipality where the electrical contracting work is being performed', and §34-36-13(b)(2) preserves the authority of counties and municipalities to require their own examinations. A holder of a valid statewide Board license is deemed qualified and must be allowed to work in any county or municipality on proof of the license, subject to the local building permit and business license. Local journeyman cards therefore exist only as a substitute for the state license within the issuing jurisdiction; the Board's reciprocity applies only to state-issued licenses, and no Alabama city or county reciprocity rule was verified from an official page.

Moving to AlabamaLeaving Alabama

Compare: getting a Alabama license from scratch

Why South Carolina has nothing to transfer

South Carolina journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician certification (CAGC SC Trades Certification, formerly MASC)”

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 15, 2026· 7 sources

Issued by Local building departments, using the CAGC SC Trades Certification (formerly MASC) journeyman card

South Carolina has no state journeyman electrician license. The LLR Contractor's Licensing Board licenses mechanical contractors (entities qualified by an individual qualifying party) for electrical work over $10,000 and the Residential Builders Commission licenses residential electricians, and neither chapter of the contractor law creates a journeyman credential; an electrician who is not a contractor works under one of those licensees without any state license. The journeyman-level credential that does exist is the journeyman electrician card of the SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program, run since 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (the association of the state's cities) and, since January 1, 2026, by the Carolinas AGC Foundation; the program's own page says the card is not a license and must not be represented as one. Whether a card is needed depends on the city or county building department, and the local ordinances themselves is not stated in the board's published materials on this verification date. No reciprocity or out-of-state acceptance is published for the journeyman card, so an arriving journeyman should expect to document two years of experience, pay the $35 application fee and take the Prov exam if a local jurisdiction or employer requires the card; the card's master-level counterpart is what LLR accepts toward the state contractor licenses.

How local licensing works in South Carolina

How local licensing works. State law licenses contractors, not electricians: S.C. Code § 40-11-30 requires a Contractor's Licensing Board license (Mechanical Contractor, Electrical classification) for mechanical contracting work whose total cost exceeds $10,000, and Chapter 59 requires a Residential Builders Commission license for residential specialty (electrical) work over $500. Employees of those licensees need no state credential. The Contractor's Licensing Board home page lists no journeyman license, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses the residential electrician, not a journeyman.

The trades certification card. The SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program was created in 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina, the statewide association of cities, to give municipalities a common examination and certification for journeyman and master electricians, plumbers, HVAC and gas fitters. MASC handed the program to the Carolinas AGC Foundation on January 1, 2026; cards issued by MASC remain valid until the expiration printed on them, and CAGC now issues verification letters. CAGC charges a $35 application fee, uses PROV as its exam provider, and states that the card 'should not be confused with' the LLR mechanical contractor or residential specialty licenses and that a holder 'will not represent to anyone that the ... trade certification card is evidence of a license'. The master electrician card (issued by exam by MASC between December 1990 and December 2025, or by CAGC after January 1, 2026) is accepted by LLR as a technical-exam waiver for both the Mechanical Contractor Electrical classification and the Residential Electrician license, which is the card's main statewide use.

Which cities require it. Requirements are set by each city or county building department. An out-of-state journeyman can work for a licensed South Carolina contractor without any state credential and, if a card is required locally, applies to CAGC with two years of documented experience.

Moving to South CarolinaLeaving South Carolina

Common questions

Do I have to take the Alabama journeyman electrician exam if I'm licensed in South Carolina?
Yes. Alabama requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a Alabama journeyman electrician license from South Carolina?
Published fees on this path total $150, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my South Carolina work hours count in Alabama?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Alabama's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Alabama to South Carolina?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Alabama to South Carolina, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. Alabama Administrative Code Chapter 303-X-3 - Licensing (certified rules effective February 14, 2026) · Ala. Admin. Code 303-X-3-.02, -.03, -.06, -.10 · Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors · Admin Rule · verified September 23, 2026
  2. Alabama Electrical Contractors Board - Annual Renewal Form (all license types) · Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  3. Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors - How to Get Licensed (examination and reciprocity steps) · Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  4. Form JCE-1 - Electrical Journeyman Examination Application · Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  5. Code of Alabama 1975, Title 34, Chapter 36 - Electrical Contractors and Journeyman Electricians · Ala. Code §§ 34-36-3, 34-36-7, 34-36-13 · Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors (compilation of the Code of Alabama) · Statute · verified September 23, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related