LicensebyState

South Carolina to Kentucky: journeyman electrician license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 23, 2026· 8 sources

South Carolina does not issue a statewide journeyman electrician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Kentucky's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state electrician without a reciprocity agreement (examination with experience credit)

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

An electrician licensed in a state other than West Virginia or Virginia applies on Form EL-3 as a new applicant: out-of-state hours count toward the 8,000-hour requirement when documented by tax records showing the occupation, a sworn affidavit on letterhead from a union, the licensed electrical contractor and master electrician who employed the applicant, an industrial facility, or an approved apprenticeship program, or by military form ELM-1. The applicant must pass the Kentucky Journeyman Electrician exam through Prov, NASCLA or Pearson Vue with at least 70% (an open-book, 80-question exam; $100 through Pearson VUE, while Prov's bulletin says its fee is paid through DHBC); 815 KAR 35:060 Section 4(5) lets DHBC recognize another examination as equivalent on a showing that it covers the same material at the same level, and the checklist accepts the NASCLA-administered exam. The $100 biennial application fee is prorated by birth month, a passport-sized photo is required, and the application stays open for one year while requirements are completed. There is no separate law or code exam for the electrician license.

DHBC does not publish an endorsement path that waives the exam for non-reciprocal states; whether a previously passed NASCLA or ICC journeyman exam from another state will be accepted under Section 4(5) is decided by the department and is not stated in the board's published materials. Passing scores are valid for three years.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Verifiable electrical work under the scope of the NEC since the applicant's sixteenth birthday (KRS 227A.060(3)); education substitutes for up to 4,000 hours.

What you'll do to get licensed in Kentucky

  1. 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($100). Electrician license application fee for a two-year license (Form EL-3), prorated by birth month to between 13 and 24 months; non-refundable.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. Kentucky Journeyman Electrician examination (Prov, NASCLA or Pearson Vue), open book, 80 questions, 70% to pass; 3 hours with Prov, 4 hours with Pearson VUE.
  3. 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. Per attempt. Prov's candidate bulletin lists no Prov fee for this exam and says it is paid through the licensing authority; confirm the current amount with the DHBC Licensing Branch (502-573-2002). The ICC version at Pearson VUE costs $100.
  4. 4Other. Passport-sized color photograph taken within six months, plus notarized experience affidavit or tax documents.

Published fees on this path total $100, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Trade exam
  • Exam fee

How Kentucky licenses journeyman electricians

Kentucky journeyman electrician · “Electrician”

Statewide license

Verified September 23, 2026· 6 sources

Issued by Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC), Licensing Branch

Kentucky's journeyman-level credential is the statewide Electrician license issued by the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction (DHBC) under KRS Chapter 227A; Kentucky does not use the word 'journeyman' in the license title, though the exam is called the Journeyman Electrician exam. A new applicant needs 8,000 hours of verifiable electrical experience since age 16 (an approved training course, two years of a four-year apprenticeship, an associate degree in electrical technology, or two years of teaching each substitute for 4,000 hours), must pass the open-book, 80-question Journeyman Electrician exam through Prov (3 hours; fee paid through DHBC), Pearson VUE ($100, 4 hours) or NASCLA with at least 70%, and pays a $100 biennial application fee prorated by birth month. Licenses run two years and renew with continuing education. DHBC's published reciprocity list covers only West Virginia and Virginia at this level; electricians from every other state document their hours and take the Kentucky exam.

Moving to KentuckyLeaving Kentucky

Compare: getting a Kentucky license from scratch

Why South Carolina has nothing to transfer

South Carolina journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician certification (CAGC SC Trades Certification, formerly MASC)”

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 15, 2026· 7 sources

Issued by Local building departments, using the CAGC SC Trades Certification (formerly MASC) journeyman card

South Carolina has no state journeyman electrician license. The LLR Contractor's Licensing Board licenses mechanical contractors (entities qualified by an individual qualifying party) for electrical work over $10,000 and the Residential Builders Commission licenses residential electricians, and neither chapter of the contractor law creates a journeyman credential; an electrician who is not a contractor works under one of those licensees without any state license. The journeyman-level credential that does exist is the journeyman electrician card of the SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program, run since 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (the association of the state's cities) and, since January 1, 2026, by the Carolinas AGC Foundation; the program's own page says the card is not a license and must not be represented as one. Whether a card is needed depends on the city or county building department, and the local ordinances themselves is not stated in the board's published materials on this verification date. No reciprocity or out-of-state acceptance is published for the journeyman card, so an arriving journeyman should expect to document two years of experience, pay the $35 application fee and take the Prov exam if a local jurisdiction or employer requires the card; the card's master-level counterpart is what LLR accepts toward the state contractor licenses.

How local licensing works in South Carolina

How local licensing works. State law licenses contractors, not electricians: S.C. Code § 40-11-30 requires a Contractor's Licensing Board license (Mechanical Contractor, Electrical classification) for mechanical contracting work whose total cost exceeds $10,000, and Chapter 59 requires a Residential Builders Commission license for residential specialty (electrical) work over $500. Employees of those licensees need no state credential. The Contractor's Licensing Board home page lists no journeyman license, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses the residential electrician, not a journeyman.

The trades certification card. The SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program was created in 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina, the statewide association of cities, to give municipalities a common examination and certification for journeyman and master electricians, plumbers, HVAC and gas fitters. MASC handed the program to the Carolinas AGC Foundation on January 1, 2026; cards issued by MASC remain valid until the expiration printed on them, and CAGC now issues verification letters. CAGC charges a $35 application fee, uses PROV as its exam provider, and states that the card 'should not be confused with' the LLR mechanical contractor or residential specialty licenses and that a holder 'will not represent to anyone that the ... trade certification card is evidence of a license'. The master electrician card (issued by exam by MASC between December 1990 and December 2025, or by CAGC after January 1, 2026) is accepted by LLR as a technical-exam waiver for both the Mechanical Contractor Electrical classification and the Residential Electrician license, which is the card's main statewide use.

Which cities require it. Requirements are set by each city or county building department. An out-of-state journeyman can work for a licensed South Carolina contractor without any state credential and, if a card is required locally, applies to CAGC with two years of documented experience.

Moving to South CarolinaLeaving South Carolina

Common questions

Do I have to take the Kentucky journeyman electrician exam if I'm licensed in South Carolina?
Yes. Kentucky requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a Kentucky journeyman electrician license from South Carolina?
Published fees on this path total $100, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my South Carolina work hours count in Kentucky?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Kentucky's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Kentucky to South Carolina?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Kentucky to South Carolina, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. DHBC Form EL-3 - Electrical License Application (Master Electrician / Electrician), October 2024, with fee schedule · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  2. DHBC - Forms and Documents (HVAC License Forms) · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  3. Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction - agency home page (scope of state licensing) · Kentucky Public Protection Cabinet, Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · Agency Page · verified September 17, 2026
  4. DHBC - Electrical New Application Checklists (KRS 227A.060 & 815 KAR 35:060; 080; 090), Feb. 4, 2025 · KRS 227A.060; 815 KAR 35:060 · Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  5. ICC Kentucky Contractor/Trades Examination Information Bulletin (January 17, 2026) · International Code Council · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  6. 815 KAR 35:060 - Licensing of electrical contractors, master electricians, and electricians · 815 KAR 35:060 Sections 1-4, 6, 8, 9 · Kentucky Legislative Research Commission · Admin Rule · verified September 23, 2026
  7. KRS 227A.060 - Qualifications for licensure; provisional license · KRS 227A.060(1)-(5) · Kentucky Legislative Research Commission · Statute · verified September 23, 2026
  8. Kentucky Electrical Licensing Board - Candidate Information Bulletin (Prov, KY CIB 2026.10.12) · Prov, Inc. for the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction · Form · verified October 12, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related