LicensebyState

South Carolina to Nebraska: journeyman electrician license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 15, 2026· 9 sources

South Carolina does not issue a statewide journeyman electrician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Nebraska's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state journeyman without a reciprocity agreement

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

The Division's pages describe only two routes: reciprocity with the thirteen listed states, or the PSI examination. A journeyman from any other state files the standard Application for State Electrical License, lists current licenses and documents four years of verifiable experience with employer verification letters on company letterhead (out-of-state experience is accepted, but an applicant with fewer than 4,000 hours in Nebraska receives a 'Restricted' license that cannot later reciprocate onward), pays the $90 application fee, and must pass the Nebraska exam. Separately, Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2120(1) lets the Board license without examination an electrician licensed for at least one year by a state that offers similar treatment and whose qualifications equal Nebraska's, and § 81-2120(2) (2024) directs the Board to issue a license to an applicant who has held for at least one year a license whose prerequisite was completion of a U.S. Department of Labor registered apprenticeship, provided the license was obtained by exam or training standards and there is no disqualifying record or pending complaint. The Division does not describe how it applies these statutory routes outside its agreement list. There is no separate law exam; State Electrical Act questions are part of the trade exam.

The PSI exam fee is paid to PSI when scheduling and is not published on the Division's pages, so no amount is listed. Whether the Board grants § 81-2120(2) apprenticeship-based licenses without examination in practice is not stated in the board's published materials.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Four years of verifiable experience acceptable to the Board (Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2109); three years plus an associate degree in electrical technology also qualifies.

What you'll do to get licensed in Nebraska

  1. 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($90). Journeyman Electrician application fee, non-refundable once processed.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. Nebraska journeyman exam administered by PSI: 2023 NEC (open book), basic electrical theory, Nebraska State Electrical Act, emergency and fire alarm circuits.
  3. 3License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($37.50). License fee when issued in an even-numbered year (2026); $75 when issued in an odd-numbered year, covering the remainder of the two-year term ending December 31 of the even year.

Published fees on this path total $127.50, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Trade exam

How Nebraska licenses journeyman electricians

Nebraska journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician”

Statewide license

Verified September 15, 2026· 6 sources

Issued by Nebraska State Electrical Division (State Electrical Board)

Nebraska issues a statewide Journeyman Electrician license through the State Electrical Division under the State Electrical Act. A new applicant needs four years (8,000 hours) of verifiable experience acceptable to the State Electrical Board (apprentice registration counts, and an associate degree in electrical technology earns one year of credit), pays a $90 application fee, and passes the PSI-administered exam covering the 2023 NEC (open book), electrical theory, the State Electrical Act and emergency circuits. The license fee is $37.50 when issued in an even-numbered year or $75 in an odd-numbered year; all licenses expire December 31 of even-numbered years and renewal requires 12 hours of continuing education. The Board has reciprocal journeyman agreements with thirteen states, and reciprocal applicants are licensed without the Nebraska exam. A Residential Journeyman (RW) license with a three-year requirement also exists.

Moving to NebraskaLeaving Nebraska

Compare: getting a Nebraska license from scratch

Why South Carolina has nothing to transfer

South Carolina journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician certification (CAGC SC Trades Certification, formerly MASC)”

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 15, 2026· 7 sources

Issued by Local building departments, using the CAGC SC Trades Certification (formerly MASC) journeyman card

South Carolina has no state journeyman electrician license. The LLR Contractor's Licensing Board licenses mechanical contractors (entities qualified by an individual qualifying party) for electrical work over $10,000 and the Residential Builders Commission licenses residential electricians, and neither chapter of the contractor law creates a journeyman credential; an electrician who is not a contractor works under one of those licensees without any state license. The journeyman-level credential that does exist is the journeyman electrician card of the SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program, run since 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (the association of the state's cities) and, since January 1, 2026, by the Carolinas AGC Foundation; the program's own page says the card is not a license and must not be represented as one. Whether a card is needed depends on the city or county building department, and the local ordinances themselves is not stated in the board's published materials on this verification date. No reciprocity or out-of-state acceptance is published for the journeyman card, so an arriving journeyman should expect to document two years of experience, pay the $35 application fee and take the Prov exam if a local jurisdiction or employer requires the card; the card's master-level counterpart is what LLR accepts toward the state contractor licenses.

How local licensing works in South Carolina

How local licensing works. State law licenses contractors, not electricians: S.C. Code § 40-11-30 requires a Contractor's Licensing Board license (Mechanical Contractor, Electrical classification) for mechanical contracting work whose total cost exceeds $10,000, and Chapter 59 requires a Residential Builders Commission license for residential specialty (electrical) work over $500. Employees of those licensees need no state credential. The Contractor's Licensing Board home page lists no journeyman license, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses the residential electrician, not a journeyman.

The trades certification card. The SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program was created in 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina, the statewide association of cities, to give municipalities a common examination and certification for journeyman and master electricians, plumbers, HVAC and gas fitters. MASC handed the program to the Carolinas AGC Foundation on January 1, 2026; cards issued by MASC remain valid until the expiration printed on them, and CAGC now issues verification letters. CAGC charges a $35 application fee, uses PROV as its exam provider, and states that the card 'should not be confused with' the LLR mechanical contractor or residential specialty licenses and that a holder 'will not represent to anyone that the ... trade certification card is evidence of a license'. The master electrician card (issued by exam by MASC between December 1990 and December 2025, or by CAGC after January 1, 2026) is accepted by LLR as a technical-exam waiver for both the Mechanical Contractor Electrical classification and the Residential Electrician license, which is the card's main statewide use.

Which cities require it. Requirements are set by each city or county building department. An out-of-state journeyman can work for a licensed South Carolina contractor without any state credential and, if a card is required locally, applies to CAGC with two years of documented experience.

Moving to South CarolinaLeaving South Carolina

Common questions

Do I have to take the Nebraska journeyman electrician exam if I'm licensed in South Carolina?
Yes. Nebraska requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a Nebraska journeyman electrician license from South Carolina?
Published fees on this path total $127.50, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my South Carolina work hours count in Nebraska?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Nebraska's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Nebraska to South Carolina?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Nebraska to South Carolina, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. Nebraska State Electrical Division - Application for State Electrical License (updated 3/2026) · Nebraska State Electrical Division · Form · verified September 23, 2026
  2. Nebraska State Electrical Division - Exam Information and Licensing Applications · Nebraska State Electrical Division · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  3. Nebraska State Electrical Division - Exam Scheduling · Nebraska State Electrical Division · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  4. Nebraska State Electrical Division - Journeyman Electrician · Nebraska State Electrical Division · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  5. Nebraska State Electrical Division - Reciprocal Information · Nebraska State Electrical Division · Agency Page · verified September 23, 2026
  6. State Electrical Act and State Electrical Board Rules (July 2026 booklet) · Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 81-2104(6), 81-2107, 81-2108, 81-2109, 81-2115, 81-2118, 81-2120 · Nebraska State Electrical Division · Statute · verified September 23, 2026
  7. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2109 - Journeyman electrician license; qualifications · Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2109 · Nebraska Legislature · Statute · verified September 23, 2026
  8. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2118 - Licenses and registrations; expiration; fees · Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2118 · Nebraska Legislature · Statute · verified September 23, 2026
  9. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2120 - Licenses; issued without examination based on reciprocity; qualifications; reciprocal credentialing agreement, military occupational specialty, or apprenticeship training program · Neb. Rev. Stat. § 81-2120 (as amended by Laws 2024, LB16) · Nebraska Legislature · Statute · verified September 15, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related