Tennessee to Alaska: master HVAC technician license reciprocity
Tennessee does not issue a statewide master HVAC technician license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Alaska's standard path for out-of-state applicants.
Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.
Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.
Mechanical Administrator license by credentials (all states)
Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.
Alaska publishes no state-by-state reciprocity list for mechanical administrators; every out-of-state applicant uses licensure by credentials under AS 08.40.270(b) and 12 AAC 39.022 (form 08-4904, also filed online through MY LICENSE). The department must waive the examination when the applicant holds a current, active mechanical administrator or equivalent license in another state (verification sent directly by every jurisdiction where the applicant is or was licensed), has that state verify on form 08-4904a, with the exam content outline, that the applicant passed an examination equivalent to Alaska's, and meets the experience qualifications for the category applied for (for example 12 AAC 39.242 for Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal or 12 AAC 39.262 for Unlimited Refrigeration). CBPL warns that passing an exam in another state does not guarantee qualification, and transcripts must come directly from the school if education is used to qualify. The fee is $150 (nonrefundable application) plus $200 (license), $350 in total, and paper applications take several weeks. An applicant who cannot document an equivalent exam applies by examination instead (form 08-4903) and must score at least 70% on the PSI mechanical administrator exam within the 12 months before licensure; a licensee may later add categories under 12 AAC 39.025 by passing that category's exam.
The division does not publish which states' HVAC contractor, master mechanical or refrigeration exams it accepts as equivalent; each is reviewed against the exam content outline. Whether a state HVAC contractor license that is issued to a business rather than a person counts as 'licensed as a mechanical administrator or the equivalent' is not addressed on any official page. The PSI examination fee for the by-examination route is not published on the application form. A journeyman-level HVAC license alone is not an administrator equivalent, but 12 AAC 39.992(4) counts an equivalent journeyman certificate from another jurisdiction toward the category experience requirement.
At a glance
- Trade exam
- Waived
- Law / code exam
- Not required
- Out-of-state hours
- Count toward eligibility
What you must already have
- Your Tennessee license must be active and in good standing.
- You must have passed a licensing exam in Tennessee that the destination considers comparable.
- Meets the category qualifications in 12 AAC 39.222-39.332 (e.g. Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal: journeyman or field-superintendent experience in HVAC and sheet metal work for four of the last six years; Unlimited Refrigeration or Residential HVAC: journeyman experience for two of the last four years); a year of experience is at least 1,500 hours in 12 consecutive months
- You must have no disciplinary action or unresolved complaints on your record.
What you'll do to get licensed in Alaska
- 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($150). Nonrefundable application fee (12 AAC 02.245).
- 2License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($200). Biennial license fee; licenses expire December 31 of odd-numbered years (12 AAC 02.245).
- 3Other. Verification of licensure from every jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has held a mechanical administrator license, sent directly to the division; verification of the equivalent examination on form 08-4904a; official transcripts sent by the school if education is used to qualify.
- 4Other. EPA Section 608 technician certification (Type I/II/III/Universal) to handle refrigerants; federal, does not expire. Not an Alaska licensing prerequisite for the administrator license itself, but required of anyone who personally services refrigerant-containing equipment.
- 5Continuing education. Complete continuing education. For renewal: one eight-hour Uniform Mechanical Code workshop (or approved equivalent) per HVAC-related category each biennium (12 AAC 39.410); renewal fee $200.
Published fees on this path total $350, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.
What you'll need to buy or arrange
Exam preparation
Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.
- Other
Continuing education
Renewals usually need approved CE hours, often on the latest NEC. Reciprocal licensees are rarely exempt.
- Continuing education
How Alaska licenses master HVAC technicians
Alaska master HVAC technician · “Mechanical Administrator”
Statewide license
Alaska has no master HVAC license; its highest person-held HVAC credential is the Mechanical Administrator license issued under AS 08.40.210-08.40.490 by the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), which is treated here as the master level. It is a supervisory license: a person may not act as a mechanical administrator without it, every registered mechanical contractor must hold or employ one, and the administrator is responsible for all mechanical work done under the contractor's license (AS 08.40.260, 08.40.280; 12 AAC 39.902). The license is issued in categories; the HVAC-related ones are Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal (UHVCS), Residential HVAC (RHVC), Unlimited Refrigeration (UR), Heating, Cooling and Process Piping (HCPP) and Mechanical Systems Temperature Control (CNTL), with plumbing categories (UCIP, RPHH) alongside. Qualification is by experience (for example four of the last six years as a journeyman or field superintendent in HVAC and sheet metal work for UHVCS, or two of the last four years as a journeyman for UR and RHVC, where a year means at least 1,500 hours) plus a PSI-administered examination passed at 70% within the prior 12 months, or by credentials for administrators licensed in another state. Fees are $150 to apply plus $200 for the license ($350); the license is biennial, expiring December 31 of odd-numbered years, and renews for $200 with an eight-hour Uniform Mechanical Code workshop per category. The administrator license does not by itself let the holder install fuel gas piping (that needs a DOLWD Plumber Gas certificate) or original control wiring (that needs an Electrical Administrator), and anyone handling refrigerants needs federal EPA Section 608 certification.
Why Tennessee has nothing to transfer
Tennessee master HVAC technician
Licensed by cities and counties
Issued by Local code enforcement offices (Nashville, Memphis/Shelby County, Chattanooga, Knoxville and other exempt jurisdictions); the state issues only the CMC / CMC-C contractor license to businesses
Tennessee does not issue a master HVAC license. The state-level HVAC credential is a contractor license with the CMC (full mechanical: plumbing and HVAC) or CMC-C (HVAC/refrigeration) classification from the Board for Licensing Contractors, which is issued to a business that names a qualifying agent and is required for any project of $25,000 or more. The qualifying agent passes the Tennessee Business & Law exam and the CMC or CMC-C trade exam (Prov from July 1, 2026; CMC candidates need Board pre-approval, $50), and the business files a reviewed or audited financial statement (or, from July 1, 2026, a surety bond of at least half the requested limit) that sets its monetary limit, proves general liability and workers' compensation insurance, and pays $250 ($200 biennial renewal). The Board's trade-exam-waiver agreements let a contractor licensed in Alabama (HVAC), Louisiana (mechanical), Mississippi (mechanical), Ohio (HVAC), South Carolina (HVAC) or West Virginia (mechanical) skip the trade exam but not the Business & Law exam or any other requirement; North Carolina's and NASCLA's waivers do not cover HVAC. Master-level licenses issued to individuals exist only locally: Nashville's Master Mechanical (six years) and HVAC&R (four years) certificates, Memphis/Shelby County's First-Class and Third-Class Mechanical Contractor licenses, and Chattanooga's Master Mechanical Contractor license. A master HVAC license from another state has no state-level recognition in Tennessee; its holder either registers a business for the CMC-C license or applies for the local master card where they will work. EPA Section 608 certification is required federally to handle refrigerants.
How local licensing works in Tennessee
State contractor route (CMC / CMC-C). Required statewide for projects of $25,000 or more and accepted by the cities as a substitute for their own master cards for permit purposes (Nashville registers CMC/CMC-C firms for $100 with a $40,000 bond and $300,000 liability certificate; Memphis/Shelby County registers state mechanical licensees for $150). Requirements: Business & Law exam plus the CMC-C or CMC trade exam ($50 pre-approval for CMC), $250 application fee, reviewed or audited financial statement or a surety bond of at least 50% of the monetary limit (from July 1, 2026), general liability and workers' compensation insurance. Trade-exam waiver, on verification by the other board that the qualifying agent passed a comparable exam: Alabama HVAC (CMC-C), Louisiana Mechanical (CMC), Mississippi Mechanical (CMC), Ohio HVAC (CMC-C), South Carolina HVAC (CMC-C), West Virginia Mechanical (CMC). The Board stresses the waiver applies only to the trade exam, cannot be used by applicants with discipline, open complaints or felony convictions, and does not allow another state's license to be used in Tennessee.
Nashville (Davidson County). The Board of Mechanical, Plumbing and Electrical Examiners and Appeals issues the Master Mechanical certificate (six years' experience) and HVAC&R certificate (four years); a mechanical engineering degree may substitute. The application asks for licenses held in other cities or states, employer confirmations and a recommendation letter; the Chief Mechanical Inspector approves, Prov administers the exam (70% to pass, 30-day retest wait). The certificate holder then registers the firm as a Metropolitan Mechanical Gas Contractor with a Davidson County business license, $40,000 permit bond and $300,000 liability certificate. No exam waiver for out-of-state licenses is published.
Memphis and Shelby County. First-Class Mechanical Contractor (age 21, 4 years of full-time installation or design experience, unlimited scope) and Third-Class Mechanical Contractor (2 years, equipment up to 15 tons or 15 hp) after a written exam set by the Mechanical/Gas Code Board; $150 registration, $110 annual renewal, licenses expire December 31, $25,000 continuous permit bond. The mechanical code has no reciprocity provision for mechanical contractors.
Chattanooga. Master Mechanical Contractor license from the Board of Mechanical Examiners: three or more years as a Journeyman Mechanic Class 1 or 2, or a current or previously held unrevoked Master Mechanical Contractor or equivalent license from Chattanooga or any other governmental agency, or a Tennessee PE license, or acceptable education and experience; $415 per two-year cycle including the exam fee. A license from elsewhere establishes eligibility for the exam but is not stated to waive it.
Knoxville. Permits are pulled under a State Contractor Registration (CMC/CMC-C) or the other registration types on the city's permit page; the city's own mechanical license classes and fees could not be confirmed from an official page, so contact Plans Review & Inspections (865-215-4311).
Out-of-state holders. The only published recognition in Tennessee is the state Board's trade-exam waiver for contractors from AL, LA, MS, OH, SC and WV, which still requires the Business & Law exam and a full contractor application. The local master cards in Nashville, Memphis and Chattanooga treat an out-of-state master license as evidence of experience or exam eligibility, not as a substitute for their own examinations.
Common questions
- Do I have to take the Alaska master HVAC technician exam if I'm licensed in Tennessee?
- No. The trade exam is waived on this path.
- What does it cost to get a Alaska master HVAC technician license from Tennessee?
- Published fees on this path total $350, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
- Do my Tennessee work hours count in Alaska?
- Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Alaska's eligibility requirements.
- Does it work the other way, from Alaska to Tennessee?
- Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Alaska to Tennessee, the mechanism is not applicable.
Sources
- Alaska CBPL - Construction Contractors (Mechanical Contractors) · AS 08.18 · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026Read from the Internet Archive capture of 2025-12-11 (live page returns a CAPTCHA). Verbatim: 'Mechanical contractors may perform any of the mechanical disciplines for which their Mechanical Administrator license allows (plumbing, heating, sheet metal, or refrigeration). A mechanical administrator license is required in addition to the Mechanical Contractors license in order to perform work. A Mechanical Contractor may hold the mechanical administrator license themselves as an additional license, or have an individual(s) assigned to their license who holds the Mechanical Administrator license.' Installation of mechanical controls requires both an Electrical Administrator and a Mechanical Administrator license.
- Alaska CBPL - Mechanical Administrators: License Applications and Forms · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026Read from the Internet Archive capture of 2026-01-21 because the live page returns a CAPTCHA. Lists online applications for Mechanical Administrator by Examination and by Credentials (filed through MyAlaska/MY LICENSE) and the paper forms: #08-4903 by Examination (new 08/30/2024), #08-4904 by Credentials (new 08/30/2024), #08-4905 Additional Category, #08-4296 Renewal (revised 10/23/2025), #08-4902 Change of Employer/Affiliation.
- Form 08-4904 - Mechanical Administrator by Credentials License Application (new 08/30/2024) · 12 AAC 39.022; 12 AAC 02.245 · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 15, 2026Downloaded directly (PDF). Fees: $150 nonrefundable application fee plus $200 license fee, $350 total. Requires verification of licensure sent directly to the division from EVERY jurisdiction where the applicant holds or has held a mechanical administrator license (primary-source web verification accepted), verification of an equivalent examination passed in another state on form 08-4904a sent directly by that state with the exam content outline, and official transcripts if education is used to qualify. Warns: 'passing an exam in another state does not guarantee qualification of an applicant for an Alaska license.' Licenses are biennial and expire December 31 of odd-numbered years; an administrator must be assigned to one licensed contractor (or held unassigned); paper processing 'can take several weeks'; documents older than 12 months are stale.
- Form 08-4903 - Mechanical Administrator by Examination License Application (new 08/30/2024) · 12 AAC 39.012; 12 AAC 02.245 · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 15, 2026Downloaded directly (PDF). Same $150 + $200 = $350 fees. Requires verification of a score of at least 70 percent, within the 12 months before application, on the administrator examination administered by PSI Services (the instruction sheet says 'electrical administrator examination', an apparent copy error on the mechanical form); results are valid one year; scheduling and the Candidate Information Bulletin are through PSI. The PSI exam fee is not stated on the form.
- Alaska CBPL - Mechanical Administrators program page · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Agency Page · verified September 15, 2026commerce.alaska.gov HTML pages block automated fetches (CAPTCHA, also through the r.jina.ai proxy); this page was read from the Internet Archive capture of 2026-01-21. States that the division staffs the mechanical administrator program, the department adopts regulations and makes licensing decisions, and that plumbers are regulated by the Department of Labor's Mechanical Inspection Section. Lists the seven regulated categories: Heating, Cooling, and Process Piping (HCPP); Mechanical Systems Temperature Control (CNTL); Residential HVAC (RHVC); Residential Plumbing and Hydronic Heating (RPHH); Unlimited Commercial and Industrial Plumbing (UCIP); Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal (UHVCS); Unlimited Refrigeration (UR).
- Form 08-4296 - Mechanical Administrator License Renewal, January 1, 2026 - December 31, 2027 (rev. 10/23/2025) · 12 AAC 39.027; 12 AAC 39.410 · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 15, 2026Downloaded directly (PDF). Biennial renewal fee $200 ($100 prorated for licenses first issued on or after January 1, 2025); no grace period; licensee certifies completion of the Article 3 continuing education or passing a code-based licensing exam during the period.
- Statutes and Regulations - Mechanical Administrators (AS 08.40.210-08.40.490 and 12 AAC 39), April 2023 · AS 08.40.260, AS 08.40.270(b), AS 08.40.280, AS 08.40.290; 12 AAC 39.012, 12 AAC 39.022, 12 AAC 39.025, 12 AAC 39.222-39.332, 12 AAC 39.410, 12 AAC 39.950, 12 AAC 39.992 · Alaska DCCED - Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing · Statute · verified September 15, 2026The PDF downloads directly from commerce.alaska.gov (only the HTML pages are behind a CAPTCHA); text was extracted locally. AS 08.40.260: a person may not act as a mechanical administrator without a license and may work only in a licensed category. AS 08.40.270(b): if an applicant proves licensure as a mechanical administrator or the equivalent by another state or territory, meets the department's category qualifications and passed an equivalent examination, the department SHALL waive the whole examination. AS 08.40.280: an administrator may qualify only one registered contractor (except in communities with fewer than three administrators). 12 AAC 39.012: licensure by examination requires a score of at least 70 percent within the 12 months before applying. 12 AAC 39.022: licensure by credentials requires verification of a current, active license sent directly by the other state and verification of an equivalent examination passed in another state. Category qualifications: Unlimited HVAC/Sheet Metal (12 AAC 39.242) and Heating, Cooling and Process Piping (39.222) need journeyman or field-superintendent experience for four of the six years before application (or an ME degree plus one of three years, or PE registration plus one year); Unlimited Refrigeration (39.262), Mechanical Systems Temperature Control (39.282) and Residential HVAC (39.322) need two of the four preceding years as a journeyman (or an accredited refrigeration/controls program). 12 AAC 39.950: a year of experience is at least 1,500 hours in 12 consecutive months. 12 AAC 39.992(4): 'journeyman' means a holder of an AS 18.62 certificate of fitness or an equivalent certificate from another licensing jurisdiction. 12 AAC 39.410: renewal requires one eight-hour Uniform Mechanical Code workshop (per category), or having passed a code-based exam during the period.
- EPA Section 608 Technician Certification Requirements · 40 CFR Part 82, Subpart F (Clean Air Act §608) · U.S. Environmental Protection Agency · Other · verified September 15, 2026Federal requirement in every state: technicians who maintain, service, repair or dispose of equipment that could release refrigerants into the atmosphere must be certified (Type I small appliances, Type II high-pressure, Type III low-pressure, Universal). Apprentices under direct supervision are exempt. Certification does not expire; the core exam must be proctored for Universal certification. State HVAC boards commonly require it before licensure, but it is not itself a state license.
Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.