LicensebyState

Kansas to Louisiana: journeyman plumber license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 16, 2026· 3 sources

Kansas does not issue a statewide journeyman plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Louisiana's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state plumbing license accepted as exam eligibility (all states other than Texas and Arkansas)

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

A plumber who holds a valid, unexpired plumbing license from any other state may use it to qualify for the Louisiana Journeyman Plumber exam in place of Louisiana apprentice registration and the 7,000/8,000-hour payroll documentation. The applicant attaches a copy of the out-of-state license to the standard journeyman application for Board approval; the journeyman application states that 'Only States that require at least 8,000 hours on-the-job training will be accepted', so a license from a state with a lower hour threshold will be refused. Nothing else is waived: the applicant files the notarized application at least 30 days before a quarterly exam with $135, passes the 80-question written exam on the 2021 International Plumbing Code and International Residential Code and the 1-hour practical (floor plan, screw pipe and copper projects) with 70% in each category, then pays $50 for the initial license. There is no separate law or business exam at the journeyman level. Once licensed, the journeyman must be employed by a licensed Louisiana master company to work and renews annually before December 31 with continuing education.

R.S. Act 908 of 2026 moves plumbing licensing to the LSLBC; requirements may change after the transfer.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • Your Kansas license must be active and in good standing.
  • The origin state must require at least 8,000 hours of on-the-job training for the license held; licenses obtained with fewer hours are not approvedJourneyman application, eligibility paragraph c, and the licenses page out-of-state note.
  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.The out-of-state license stands in for the 8,000 hours (unindentured) or 7,000 hours (indentured) of Louisiana apprentice payroll documentation that in-state applicants must submit.

What you'll do to get licensed in Louisiana

  1. 1Exam fee. Pay the exam fee ($125). Journeyman Plumber Exam Fee payable to SPBLA by check or money order with the notarized application (filed at least 30 days before the quarterly exam date; forfeited for no-show or cancellation under 30 days, 50% retained for earlier withdrawal).
  2. 2Application fee. Pay the application fee ($10). Processing Charge added to the exam fee ($135 total).
  3. 3Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. Board-administered Journeyman Plumber exam in Baton Rouge or Shreveport: 80-question, 3-hour written exam on the 2021 International Plumbing Code and 2021 International Residential Code plus a 1-hour practical (floor plan, screw pipe and copper projects); minimum 70% in each category; a passed part is kept for one year.
  4. 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($50). Initial Journeyman License fee paid with the Initial Journeyman License form after passing; license expires December 31 each year (renewal fee not published on the pages reviewed).
  5. 5Other. Copy of the valid out-of-state plumbing license attached to the notarized application; applicants convicted of a plumbing-related felony must contact the Board.
  6. 6Other. Temporary Work Permit ($75, one per lifetime) allowing an approved candidate to work as a journeyman until the scheduled exam date (if applicable).
  7. 7Continuing education. Complete continuing education. Continuing education every year through an SPBLA-approved provider before the December 31 renewal (hour count for journeymen not stated on the pages reviewed).

Published fees on this path total $185, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Exam fee · $125
  • Trade exam

Continuing education

Renewals usually need approved CE hours, often on the latest NEC. Reciprocal licensees are rarely exempt.

  • Continuing education

How Louisiana licenses journeyman plumbers

Louisiana journeyman plumber · “Journeyman Plumber

Statewide license

Verified September 16, 2026· 3 sources

Issued by State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (SPBLA)

Louisiana licenses Journeyman Plumbers statewide through the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (SPBLA), which also registers apprentices and licenses Residential Plumbers, Master Plumbers, natural gas fitters and medical gas and WSPS endorsements. A new in-state applicant must be a registered apprentice with 7,000 hours (indentured, in a Louisiana Workforce Commission-approved program) or 8,000 hours (unindentured) of supervised plumbing work documented by payroll records or W-2s, file a notarized application with $135 ($125 exam + $10 processing), and pass a Board-administered 80-question, 3-hour written exam on the 2021 IPC/IRC plus a 1-hour practical, scoring at least 70% in each category. The first license costs $50; licenses expire December 31 each year and renewal requires annual continuing education (hours for journeymen are not stated on the pages reviewed). A journeyman works under a licensed Louisiana Master Plumber and must be employed by a licensed master company for the license to be 'workable'. The Board has signed journeyman reciprocity agreements only with Texas and Arkansas; a plumbing license from any other state qualifies the holder to sit the Louisiana journeyman exam without Louisiana apprentice registration, provided the origin state required at least 8,000 on-the-job hours. Act 908 of the 2026 session transfers plumbing licensing to the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors; the transition was under public discussion in late 2026 and no changed requirements had been published.

Moving to LouisianaLeaving Louisiana

Why Kansas has nothing to transfer

Kansas journeyman plumber

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Kansas has no statewide journeyman plumber license and no state plumbing board. K.S.A. 12-1508 and 12-1509 only set a framework for the counties and cities that choose to license plumbers: they must use the ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard exams, require a 75% score, verify two years of field experience (up to one year creditable from a 930-hour trade-school program), charge a uniform fee and require 12 hours of continuing education every two years, half of it code education. A journeyman certificate of competency earned that way is valid proof of competency in every other Kansas county or city that licenses plumbers without additional examination, but each jurisdiction still issues its own license and collects its own fee. Sedgwick County/Wichita (MABCD) and Topeka license journeyman plumbers individually; Johnson County licenses only plumbing contractors (Class DP) and issues no journeyman card. No Kansas jurisdiction found in this pass accepts another state's journeyman license in place of the exam (MABCD states it 'does not reciprocate with state testing'), so an out-of-state journeyman transfers only a qualifying ICC, IAPMO or Prometric score they may already hold, plus documented hours.

How local licensing works in Kansas

How local licensing works. Kansas has no state plumbing license, board or application. Under K.S.A. 12-1508 to 12-1509 a county or city that licenses plumbers must accept only the ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard plumbing exams (and may ask no other questions), require a 75% passing score, verify two years of field experience under a licensed journeyman or master (one year of which may be a trade-school program of at least 930 hours), set one uniform exam and license fee for all applicants, and require 12 hours of continuing education biennially or six annually with half in code education. A journeyman certificate of competency issued on a standard exam 'shall be valid proof of competency for licensure, without additional examination, in any county or city of the state', and the receiving jurisdiction must issue its own certificate for its uniform fee (K.S.A. 12-1509(b)-(c)). The Attorney General has opined that a city may not use home-rule power to add licensing requirements beyond the act (AG Op. 1999-42). Medical gas piping additionally requires ASSE Series 6000 certification (K.S.A. 12-1509(g)). Nothing in the act addresses licenses from other states.

Sedgwick County and Wichita (MABCD). Requires every journeyman plumber working in Wichita or unincorporated Sedgwick County to hold an MABCD trade certificate. Plumbing journeyman: one year of field experience plus one year of plumbing trade school, or two years of field experience (documented on company letterhead with a description of the work), and a 75% or better score on ICC K9R Plumbing with Gas, ICC 560 Journeyman Plumber with Gas or the IAPMO journeyman exam; submit Form 19A with the official passing letter, transcripts and experience proof and pay $35. Certificates run two years and renew for $35 with three trade-specific and three general CEUs per year (12 per cycle), with penalty hours if expired. MABCD no longer sponsors exams; candidates test through Pearson VUE (ICC) or IAPMO. Out-of-state treatment: 'MABCD does not reciprocate with state testing, only those exams listed below are approved for Sedgwick County.' An out-of-state journeyman license is not accepted as a substitute; the applicant needs a passing ICC K9R/560 or IAPMO score (many states' ICC national journeyman plumber exams are the same 560 series, but MABCD requires the official letter naming the exam) and documented hours.

Johnson County (Olathe, Overland Park, Lenexa, Shawnee and the other cities in the county program). Johnson County Contractor Licensing issues contractor licenses only; there is no journeyman plumber license. Plumbing work is done by a company holding a Class DP Plumbing Contractor license ($100 application plus $225 per license type, $225 annual renewal, $75 late fee from Feb. 1) whose qualifying individual has passed the ICC Master Plumbing with Gas exam (557/KGF). A journeyman arriving from another state works as an employee of a licensed DP contractor without any personal county license. Applications include the ICC passing certification or approved alternative education, liability and workers' compensation certificates, and can take up to 10 days. V art. 17 'Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Trade Licensing'; the Unified Government's Building Inspection trade licensing and Prometric testing program). What ports is (1) a passing score on an ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard journeyman plumber exam, documented by an official letter, and (2) verifiable field experience of at least two years. With those, the applicant obtains a certificate from the first Kansas jurisdiction they work in and can then be licensed in any other Kansas county or city without retesting under K.S.A. 12-1509(b), paying each jurisdiction's fee and meeting its CE.

Moving to KansasLeaving Kansas

Common questions

Do I have to take the Louisiana journeyman plumber exam if I'm licensed in Kansas?
Yes. Louisiana requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a Louisiana journeyman plumber license from Kansas?
Published fees on this path total $185, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Kansas work hours count in Louisiana?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Louisiana's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Louisiana to Kansas?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Louisiana to Kansas, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. SPBLA home page - 'Open Discussion: Plumbing Licensing Transition' (Act 908 of the 2026 Legislative Session) · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
  2. SPBLA - Journeyman Plumber Exam Application and Candidate Bulletin · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana · Form · verified September 16, 2026
  3. State Plumbing Board of Louisiana - Licenses (Apprentice, Residential Plumber, Journeyman Plumber, Master Plumber, WSPS, Medical Gas, Natural Gas) · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related