LicensebyState

Missouri to District of Columbia: journeyman plumber license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Missouri does not issue a statewide journeyman plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is District of Columbia's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state journeyman plumber from a state other than Maryland

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

The Board of Industrial Trades publishes a plumber-specific reciprocity bulletin only for Maryland. A journeyman plumber from any other state applies through the DLCP online portal as a new applicant with a passport-style photo, government ID, certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, and the $65 application fee, must show the 8,000-hour/4-year apprentice experience (or a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years, or equivalent), schedules the journeyman exam with PSI, and pays the $110 license fee. Two statutory routes can waive the exam: § 47-2853.122(b-1) requires the Board to accept a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate (completed apprenticeship, passed that organization's exam, designated journeyman, no discipline) in lieu of the exam and subsection (b), and § 47-2853.12(b) directs boards to waive the exam for a licensee in good standing of a state whose standards were at least as high as the District's and which admits DC licensees in a like manner, with § 47-2853.08 leaving the substantial-equivalence finding to the Board case by case. No District-law exam applies.

PSI exam fee is referred to 17 DCMR § 3500.3 and was not stated on the board page. Virginia plumbers are not named in the Reciprocity section or in the Maryland plumbing bulletin title.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years, or a mechanical-engineering degree plus at least 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master plumber or master gasfitter, or comparable experience the Board deems equivalent (D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(b)). Not required if applying under the national-certificate substitute in (b-1).

What you'll do to get licensed in District of Columbia

  1. 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($65). Application fee (non-refundable under D.C. Code § 47-2853.10), paid online with the DLCP application.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. DC Journeyman Plumber examination administered by PSI (schedule at psiexams.com or 855-557-0616 after Board processing); waived for holders of a recognized national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate under § 47-2853.122(b-1).
  3. 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. PSI examination fee, amount set by 17 DCMR § 3500.3 (not stated on the Board page).
  4. 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($110). Journeyman (all types) license fee, up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years (renewal $110).
  5. 5Other. Certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, 2x2 passport-style photo, and government-issued ID, uploaded with the online application (Board Plumbing/Gasfitting items-needed list).

Published fees on this path total $175, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Trade exam
  • Exam fee

How District of Columbia licenses journeyman plumbers

District of Columbia journeyman plumber · “Journeyman Plumber

Statewide license

Verified September 16, 2026· 5 sources

Issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)

The District of Columbia issues a person-held Journeyman Plumber license (the Board also licenses journeyman gasfitters as a related specialty) through the Board of Industrial Trades in the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP), the same board that licenses electricians and refrigeration mechanics. Under D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 a journeyman plumber must have worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years (a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master, or comparable experience the Board accepts, also qualifies) and then pass the PSI-administered exam, unless the applicant presents a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate that waives both the exam and the subsection (b) experience path. Fees are a $65 application fee and a $110 license fee for a term of up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The Board publishes a Maryland plumbing reciprocity bulletin; the Reciprocity section of the board page still describes only Maryland and Virginia electricians. No District-law exam applies to journeyman plumbers (§ 47-2853.12(c)(3)).

Moving to District of ColumbiaLeaving District of Columbia

Why Missouri has nothing to transfer

Missouri journeyman plumber

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Missouri has no statewide journeyman plumber license and no state plumbing board. RSMo chapter 341 instead authorizes cities over 15,000 population and first-classification counties to examine and certify plumbers through their own boards of examiners, and the Division of Professional Registration licenses no plumbing profession (the state's only statewide construction credential is the voluntary electrical contractor license). Journeyman plumbers are therefore licensed jurisdiction by jurisdiction: St. Louis County's Board of Plumbing Examiners, the City of St. Louis Plumbers and Drainlayers Board of Examiners, Kansas City's City Planning and Development contractor-licensing program, Springfield's Building Development Services, and other cities and counties that have adopted a plumbing code. There is no statewide reciprocity and no state mechanism to recognize an out-of-state license. Springfield admits an applicant licensed elsewhere on proof of experience plus an identical ICC (Pearson Vue), Prometric, Experior or Block exam score of 75% or better, and Kansas City may accept a comparable exam from another jurisdiction it deems equivalent; the St. Louis County and City of St.

How local licensing works in Missouri

How local licensing works. Missouri regulates plumbers only through local government. RSMo §§ 341.010-341.080 (cities over 15,000) require plumbers to hold a certificate issued after examination by a city board of examiners, and §§ 341.090-341.220 (first-classification counties) let a county create a department and board of plumbing and sewer inspection that licenses master plumbers, journeymen and drainlayers, sets fees and license terms (§ 341.180) and requires master plumber bonds (§ 341.200). Each board writes its own rules, so hours, exams, fees and the treatment of other jurisdictions' licenses differ from place to place, and a plumber must hold the license of each jurisdiction in which they work.

St. Louis County. The Department of Transportation and Public Works' Plumbing Licensing office (41 South Central Avenue, Clayton, 314-615-3741, [email protected]) licenses Journeyman, Master Plumber and Apprentice plumbers and certifies plumbing contractors under the county plumbing code. The Board of Plumbing Examiners normally meets the first Thursday of each month at 8:00 a.m., and renewal carries a PEU (professional education unit) requirement. The county's separate mechanical board exempts pipefitting and sprinkler-fitting journeymen 'licensed under the county plumbing code' from its own test, which shows how tightly the county's trade licenses are tied to its own code.

City of St. Louis. The Building Division's Plumbers and Drainlayers Board of Examiners 'reviews licensing matters, apprentice applications, complaints, and other business related to plumbing and drainlaying work in the City of St. Louis'. Certification requires an application with notarized references and a passing score from a recognized agency such as Prometric or ICC ($60 application, first four-year certificate free, $181 renewal every four years), and the city 'may accept comparable examinations from other jurisdictions if deemed equivalent or superior' to its approved exams. Whether Kansas City still issues a separately titled journeyman plumber license, its experience requirement and any named reciprocity (for example with Johnson County, Kansas) could not be confirmed because kcmo.gov, the proxy and the archive were all blocked on 2026-09-16.

Springfield. Building Development Services certifies Journeyman Plumbers. Eligibility is 4 years under the supervision of a master plumber or 6 years' experience in the trade, documented on signed, notarized Applicant Experience Forms for every employer (Schedule C or 1099s if self-employed). The packet goes to the board, which meets the first Thursday of each month at 5:00 p.m. in the Busch Building; approval to test is good for one year. The exam is the ICC plumbing exam through Pearson Vue (about $125 paid to Pearson Vue), 75% to pass; the city then issues the Trade Certification Card for $25, renewing at $25 per year. Out-of-state treatment: an applicant licensed in another jurisdiction applies under 'Reciprocity from another jurisdiction' by submitting the same experience documentation plus a copy of an exam score notification of 75% or better from Prometric, Experior, Block or ICC (Pearson Vue), 'the examination must be the identical exam as required by the City of Springfield'; the exam is then not repeated. A license backed by a different exam gives no advantage beyond documenting experience.

Columbia and others. Columbia, St.

Moving to MissouriLeaving Missouri

Common questions

Do I have to take the District of Columbia journeyman plumber exam if I'm licensed in Missouri?
Yes. District of Columbia requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a District of Columbia journeyman plumber license from Missouri?
Published fees on this path total $175, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Missouri work hours count in District of Columbia?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward District of Columbia's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from District of Columbia to Missouri?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from District of Columbia to Missouri, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. D.C. Code § 47-2853.08 - Powers of the boards (reciprocity and endorsement) · D.C. Code § 47-2853.08(2) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  2. D.C. Code § 47-2853.12 - License, certification, and registration criteria; waiver · D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b)-(d), (l) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  3. D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 - Scope of practice for plumbers or gasfitters · D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  4. D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 - Plumbers or gasfitters: eligibility requirements · D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  5. DC DLCP - Board of Industrial Trades (plumbers/gasfitters: apply, exams, fees, reciprocity notices) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
  6. DC DLCP - Plumbing/Gasfitting license application instructions (linked from Board of Industrial Trades) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 16, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related