LicensebyState

Wyoming to District of Columbia: journeyman plumber license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Wyoming does not issue a statewide journeyman plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is District of Columbia's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state journeyman plumber from a state other than Maryland

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

The Board of Industrial Trades publishes a plumber-specific reciprocity bulletin only for Maryland. A journeyman plumber from any other state applies through the DLCP online portal as a new applicant with a passport-style photo, government ID, certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, and the $65 application fee, must show the 8,000-hour/4-year apprentice experience (or a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years, or equivalent), schedules the journeyman exam with PSI, and pays the $110 license fee. Two statutory routes can waive the exam: § 47-2853.122(b-1) requires the Board to accept a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate (completed apprenticeship, passed that organization's exam, designated journeyman, no discipline) in lieu of the exam and subsection (b), and § 47-2853.12(b) directs boards to waive the exam for a licensee in good standing of a state whose standards were at least as high as the District's and which admits DC licensees in a like manner, with § 47-2853.08 leaving the substantial-equivalence finding to the Board case by case. No District-law exam applies.

PSI exam fee is referred to 17 DCMR § 3500.3 and was not stated on the board page. Virginia plumbers are not named in the Reciprocity section or in the Maryland plumbing bulletin title.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years, or a mechanical-engineering degree plus at least 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master plumber or master gasfitter, or comparable experience the Board deems equivalent (D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(b)). Not required if applying under the national-certificate substitute in (b-1).

What you'll do to get licensed in District of Columbia

  1. 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($65). Application fee (non-refundable under D.C. Code § 47-2853.10), paid online with the DLCP application.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. DC Journeyman Plumber examination administered by PSI (schedule at psiexams.com or 855-557-0616 after Board processing); waived for holders of a recognized national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate under § 47-2853.122(b-1).
  3. 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. PSI examination fee, amount set by 17 DCMR § 3500.3 (not stated on the Board page).
  4. 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($110). Journeyman (all types) license fee, up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years (renewal $110).
  5. 5Other. Certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, 2x2 passport-style photo, and government-issued ID, uploaded with the online application (Board Plumbing/Gasfitting items-needed list).

Published fees on this path total $175, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Trade exam
  • Exam fee

How District of Columbia licenses journeyman plumbers

District of Columbia journeyman plumber · “Journeyman Plumber

Statewide license

Verified September 16, 2026· 5 sources

Issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)

The District of Columbia issues a person-held Journeyman Plumber license (the Board also licenses journeyman gasfitters as a related specialty) through the Board of Industrial Trades in the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP), the same board that licenses electricians and refrigeration mechanics. Under D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 a journeyman plumber must have worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years (a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master, or comparable experience the Board accepts, also qualifies) and then pass the PSI-administered exam, unless the applicant presents a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate that waives both the exam and the subsection (b) experience path. Fees are a $65 application fee and a $110 license fee for a term of up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The Board publishes a Maryland plumbing reciprocity bulletin; the Reciprocity section of the board page still describes only Maryland and Virginia electricians. No District-law exam applies to journeyman plumbers (§ 47-2853.12(c)(3)).

Moving to District of ColumbiaLeaving District of Columbia

Why Wyoming has nothing to transfer

Wyoming journeyman plumber

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 16, 2026· 12 sources

Wyoming has no statewide plumber license at any level. The only state construction-trade licensing program is the State Fire Marshal's electrician program, which lists no plumbing or mechanical credential, so a journeyman plumber license exists only where a city ordinance creates one. Cheyenne, Casper, Laramie, Gillette and Sheridan each license journeyman plumbers (and apprentices) individually, all requiring four years or a completed apprenticeship plus an ICC National Standard plumbing exam (G28-N journeyman or G27-N master), while Jackson has stopped issuing journeyman cards altogether and Rock Springs only registers contractors. No city accepts another state's journeyman license: Casper, Gillette and Jackson reciprocate only with other Wyoming jurisdictions, Sheridan expressly refuses licenses from other cities or states, Cheyenne's Board keeps discretion but cites a state statute limiting reciprocity to Wyoming jurisdictions, and Laramie's building official may waive the exam for a certificate from any governmental agency whose exam is judged at least equal. An out-of-state journeyman should expect to document their hours, present or sit the ICC exam through Pearson VUE, and apply separately in each city where they will work.

How local licensing works in Wyoming

How local licensing works. Wyoming licenses electricians through the State Fire Marshal but has no plumbing board, so plumber licensing is entirely a matter of city ordinance and each city sets its own classes, hours, exam and fees. The reciprocity statute the cities cite reaches only licenses issued by other Wyoming jurisdictions; none of the cities below publishes a path that recognizes another state's plumber license.

Cheyenne. The Contractor Licensing Board licenses Plumbing (Class C1, tested) contractors and requires every employee on a plumbing job site to hold a master, journeyman or apprentice license. A journeyman (12.1.9) documents 4 years/8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice (or certified equivalent training) and passes a current ICC, NICET or NASCLA exam from the Board's list, paid to the testing agency; a Residential Plumbing Journeyman (12.1.11) needs 2 years/4,000 hours and may work only on IRC residential structures at a 1:1 apprentice ratio. Fees: $50 application plus $30 initial and $15 renewal (apprentice $25 + $25, $15 renewal); licenses expire annually. Up to three apprentices may work under one journeyman or master. Trade employees registered for the exam can get a one-time 30-day temporary work authorization (60 days maximum). Reciprocity (3.3.2): the Board 'may grant reciprocity with other State jurisdictions and agencies as the Board determines appropriate', notes that Wyoming's statute allows reciprocity for Wyoming jurisdictions only, evaluates even those case by case, and may accept a test exceeding its published exams from someone holding a current equivalent license elsewhere - no partner list is published.

Casper. The Community Development Department issues Journeyman Plumber licenses ($25 new, $15 renewal) to applicants with a federally recognized plumbing apprenticeship or the equivalent of four years in a Casper-licensed plumbing shop plus proof of passing ICC G27-N or G28-N (or equivalent); apprentice licenses ($3) are issued to the contractor in the apprentice's name. Reciprocal Plumbing Master/Journeyman licenses ($50/$25) exist only for holders of a current, good-standing license from another Wyoming jurisdiction with comparable testing.

Laramie. A journeyman plumbing certificate of qualification requires four years' employment with a licensed plumbing contractor (Table 15.24.020-1) and the building official's examination; the application fee is $5 per exam attempt, and a failed exam bars retesting for 30 days (six months after a second failure). In lieu of the exam, the building official may issue the certificate to anyone presenting a valid certificate from 'any other governmental agency giving an examination' that the board of examiners considers at least equal - the only Wyoming city whose rule is not limited to Wyoming jurisdictions. Journeymen work only under a certified master, each journeyman or master may supervise two apprentices, certificates expire December 31 (renew by January 31), and applications go through the Civic Access portal.

Gillette. Journeyman Plumber ($25 new, $25 renewal) requires four years of approved experience and passing ICC examination results (5-III-21/22); the ICC computer-based exam is taken through Pearson VUE. Apprentices ($5) qualify after 30 days with a Gillette-licensed plumbing contractor, and one master or journeyman supervises up to three apprentices. Reciprocity (5-III-1(d), effective July 1, 2024) is granted without fee only to active, good-standing licenses of a similar class from another Wyoming city, county or town, with testing waived on proof of the ICC plumbing exam.

Sheridan. Journeyman Plumber ($50 new, $50 annual renewal) requires four years of journeyman plumber experience (Form JP) or a completed approved four-year apprenticeship and the 2018 ICC G28 Journeyman Plumber with Gas exam; one licensed contractor or journeyman is required per three apprentices. The City's FAQ states it 'does not accept licensing from other cities, towns, counties, or states as a means to obtain licensing locally'. Applications go through the OpenGov portal.

Jackson. The Town no longer issues or requires Apprentice or Journeyman Certificate of Qualification cards; only Master COQ cards are issued. A journeyman-level plumber works in Jackson as an employee of a Town-licensed plumbing contractor whose Master of Record holds a Master COQ, and needs no individual Town card.

Rock Springs. The Building Inspection Office registers contractors ($125 fee plus a certificate of insurance) and licenses no individual plumbers; no exam or hours are required.

Moving to WyomingLeaving Wyoming

Common questions

Do I have to take the District of Columbia journeyman plumber exam if I'm licensed in Wyoming?
Yes. District of Columbia requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a District of Columbia journeyman plumber license from Wyoming?
Published fees on this path total $175, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Wyoming work hours count in District of Columbia?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward District of Columbia's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from District of Columbia to Wyoming?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from District of Columbia to Wyoming, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. D.C. Code § 47-2853.08 - Powers of the boards (reciprocity and endorsement) · D.C. Code § 47-2853.08(2) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  2. D.C. Code § 47-2853.12 - License, certification, and registration criteria; waiver · D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b)-(d), (l) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  3. D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 - Scope of practice for plumbers or gasfitters · D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  4. D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 - Plumbers or gasfitters: eligibility requirements · D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  5. DC DLCP - Board of Industrial Trades (plumbers/gasfitters: apply, exams, fees, reciprocity notices) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
  6. DC DLCP - Plumbing/Gasfitting license application instructions (linked from Board of Industrial Trades) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 16, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related