LicensebyState

Wyoming to Louisiana: journeyman plumber license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 16, 2026· 3 sources

Wyoming does not issue a statewide journeyman plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is Louisiana's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state plumbing license accepted as exam eligibility (all states other than Texas and Arkansas)

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

A plumber who holds a valid, unexpired plumbing license from any other state may use it to qualify for the Louisiana Journeyman Plumber exam in place of Louisiana apprentice registration and the 7,000/8,000-hour payroll documentation. The applicant attaches a copy of the out-of-state license to the standard journeyman application for Board approval; the journeyman application states that 'Only States that require at least 8,000 hours on-the-job training will be accepted', so a license from a state with a lower hour threshold will be refused. Nothing else is waived: the applicant files the notarized application at least 30 days before a quarterly exam with $135, passes the 80-question written exam on the 2021 International Plumbing Code and International Residential Code and the 1-hour practical (floor plan, screw pipe and copper projects) with 70% in each category, then pays $50 for the initial license. There is no separate law or business exam at the journeyman level. Once licensed, the journeyman must be employed by a licensed Louisiana master company to work and renews annually before December 31 with continuing education.

R.S. Act 908 of 2026 moves plumbing licensing to the LSLBC; requirements may change after the transfer.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • Your Wyoming license must be active and in good standing.
  • The origin state must require at least 8,000 hours of on-the-job training for the license held; licenses obtained with fewer hours are not approvedJourneyman application, eligibility paragraph c, and the licenses page out-of-state note.
  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.The out-of-state license stands in for the 8,000 hours (unindentured) or 7,000 hours (indentured) of Louisiana apprentice payroll documentation that in-state applicants must submit.

What you'll do to get licensed in Louisiana

  1. 1Exam fee. Pay the exam fee ($125). Journeyman Plumber Exam Fee payable to SPBLA by check or money order with the notarized application (filed at least 30 days before the quarterly exam date; forfeited for no-show or cancellation under 30 days, 50% retained for earlier withdrawal).
  2. 2Application fee. Pay the application fee ($10). Processing Charge added to the exam fee ($135 total).
  3. 3Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. Board-administered Journeyman Plumber exam in Baton Rouge or Shreveport: 80-question, 3-hour written exam on the 2021 International Plumbing Code and 2021 International Residential Code plus a 1-hour practical (floor plan, screw pipe and copper projects); minimum 70% in each category; a passed part is kept for one year.
  4. 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($50). Initial Journeyman License fee paid with the Initial Journeyman License form after passing; license expires December 31 each year (renewal fee not published on the pages reviewed).
  5. 5Other. Copy of the valid out-of-state plumbing license attached to the notarized application; applicants convicted of a plumbing-related felony must contact the Board.
  6. 6Other. Temporary Work Permit ($75, one per lifetime) allowing an approved candidate to work as a journeyman until the scheduled exam date (if applicable).
  7. 7Continuing education. Complete continuing education. Continuing education every year through an SPBLA-approved provider before the December 31 renewal (hour count for journeymen not stated on the pages reviewed).

Published fees on this path total $185, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Exam fee · $125
  • Trade exam

Continuing education

Renewals usually need approved CE hours, often on the latest NEC. Reciprocal licensees are rarely exempt.

  • Continuing education

How Louisiana licenses journeyman plumbers

Louisiana journeyman plumber · “Journeyman Plumber

Statewide license

Verified September 16, 2026· 3 sources

Issued by State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (SPBLA)

Louisiana licenses Journeyman Plumbers statewide through the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (SPBLA), which also registers apprentices and licenses Residential Plumbers, Master Plumbers, natural gas fitters and medical gas and WSPS endorsements. A new in-state applicant must be a registered apprentice with 7,000 hours (indentured, in a Louisiana Workforce Commission-approved program) or 8,000 hours (unindentured) of supervised plumbing work documented by payroll records or W-2s, file a notarized application with $135 ($125 exam + $10 processing), and pass a Board-administered 80-question, 3-hour written exam on the 2021 IPC/IRC plus a 1-hour practical, scoring at least 70% in each category. The first license costs $50; licenses expire December 31 each year and renewal requires annual continuing education (hours for journeymen are not stated on the pages reviewed). A journeyman works under a licensed Louisiana Master Plumber and must be employed by a licensed master company for the license to be 'workable'. The Board has signed journeyman reciprocity agreements only with Texas and Arkansas; a plumbing license from any other state qualifies the holder to sit the Louisiana journeyman exam without Louisiana apprentice registration, provided the origin state required at least 8,000 on-the-job hours. Act 908 of the 2026 session transfers plumbing licensing to the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors; the transition was under public discussion in late 2026 and no changed requirements had been published.

Moving to LouisianaLeaving Louisiana

Why Wyoming has nothing to transfer

Wyoming journeyman plumber

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 16, 2026· 12 sources

Wyoming has no statewide plumber license at any level. The only state construction-trade licensing program is the State Fire Marshal's electrician program, which lists no plumbing or mechanical credential, so a journeyman plumber license exists only where a city ordinance creates one. Cheyenne, Casper, Laramie, Gillette and Sheridan each license journeyman plumbers (and apprentices) individually, all requiring four years or a completed apprenticeship plus an ICC National Standard plumbing exam (G28-N journeyman or G27-N master), while Jackson has stopped issuing journeyman cards altogether and Rock Springs only registers contractors. No city accepts another state's journeyman license: Casper, Gillette and Jackson reciprocate only with other Wyoming jurisdictions, Sheridan expressly refuses licenses from other cities or states, Cheyenne's Board keeps discretion but cites a state statute limiting reciprocity to Wyoming jurisdictions, and Laramie's building official may waive the exam for a certificate from any governmental agency whose exam is judged at least equal. An out-of-state journeyman should expect to document their hours, present or sit the ICC exam through Pearson VUE, and apply separately in each city where they will work.

How local licensing works in Wyoming

How local licensing works. Wyoming licenses electricians through the State Fire Marshal but has no plumbing board, so plumber licensing is entirely a matter of city ordinance and each city sets its own classes, hours, exam and fees. The reciprocity statute the cities cite reaches only licenses issued by other Wyoming jurisdictions; none of the cities below publishes a path that recognizes another state's plumber license.

Cheyenne. The Contractor Licensing Board licenses Plumbing (Class C1, tested) contractors and requires every employee on a plumbing job site to hold a master, journeyman or apprentice license. A journeyman (12.1.9) documents 4 years/8,000 hours as a licensed apprentice (or certified equivalent training) and passes a current ICC, NICET or NASCLA exam from the Board's list, paid to the testing agency; a Residential Plumbing Journeyman (12.1.11) needs 2 years/4,000 hours and may work only on IRC residential structures at a 1:1 apprentice ratio. Fees: $50 application plus $30 initial and $15 renewal (apprentice $25 + $25, $15 renewal); licenses expire annually. Up to three apprentices may work under one journeyman or master. Trade employees registered for the exam can get a one-time 30-day temporary work authorization (60 days maximum). Reciprocity (3.3.2): the Board 'may grant reciprocity with other State jurisdictions and agencies as the Board determines appropriate', notes that Wyoming's statute allows reciprocity for Wyoming jurisdictions only, evaluates even those case by case, and may accept a test exceeding its published exams from someone holding a current equivalent license elsewhere - no partner list is published.

Casper. The Community Development Department issues Journeyman Plumber licenses ($25 new, $15 renewal) to applicants with a federally recognized plumbing apprenticeship or the equivalent of four years in a Casper-licensed plumbing shop plus proof of passing ICC G27-N or G28-N (or equivalent); apprentice licenses ($3) are issued to the contractor in the apprentice's name. Reciprocal Plumbing Master/Journeyman licenses ($50/$25) exist only for holders of a current, good-standing license from another Wyoming jurisdiction with comparable testing.

Laramie. A journeyman plumbing certificate of qualification requires four years' employment with a licensed plumbing contractor (Table 15.24.020-1) and the building official's examination; the application fee is $5 per exam attempt, and a failed exam bars retesting for 30 days (six months after a second failure). In lieu of the exam, the building official may issue the certificate to anyone presenting a valid certificate from 'any other governmental agency giving an examination' that the board of examiners considers at least equal - the only Wyoming city whose rule is not limited to Wyoming jurisdictions. Journeymen work only under a certified master, each journeyman or master may supervise two apprentices, certificates expire December 31 (renew by January 31), and applications go through the Civic Access portal.

Gillette. Journeyman Plumber ($25 new, $25 renewal) requires four years of approved experience and passing ICC examination results (5-III-21/22); the ICC computer-based exam is taken through Pearson VUE. Apprentices ($5) qualify after 30 days with a Gillette-licensed plumbing contractor, and one master or journeyman supervises up to three apprentices. Reciprocity (5-III-1(d), effective July 1, 2024) is granted without fee only to active, good-standing licenses of a similar class from another Wyoming city, county or town, with testing waived on proof of the ICC plumbing exam.

Sheridan. Journeyman Plumber ($50 new, $50 annual renewal) requires four years of journeyman plumber experience (Form JP) or a completed approved four-year apprenticeship and the 2018 ICC G28 Journeyman Plumber with Gas exam; one licensed contractor or journeyman is required per three apprentices. The City's FAQ states it 'does not accept licensing from other cities, towns, counties, or states as a means to obtain licensing locally'. Applications go through the OpenGov portal.

Jackson. The Town no longer issues or requires Apprentice or Journeyman Certificate of Qualification cards; only Master COQ cards are issued. A journeyman-level plumber works in Jackson as an employee of a Town-licensed plumbing contractor whose Master of Record holds a Master COQ, and needs no individual Town card.

Rock Springs. The Building Inspection Office registers contractors ($125 fee plus a certificate of insurance) and licenses no individual plumbers; no exam or hours are required.

Moving to WyomingLeaving Wyoming

Common questions

Do I have to take the Louisiana journeyman plumber exam if I'm licensed in Wyoming?
Yes. Louisiana requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a Louisiana journeyman plumber license from Wyoming?
Published fees on this path total $185, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Wyoming work hours count in Louisiana?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward Louisiana's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from Louisiana to Wyoming?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from Louisiana to Wyoming, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. SPBLA home page - 'Open Discussion: Plumbing Licensing Transition' (Act 908 of the 2026 Legislative Session) · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
  2. SPBLA - Journeyman Plumber Exam Application and Candidate Bulletin · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana · Form · verified September 16, 2026
  3. State Plumbing Board of Louisiana - Licenses (Apprentice, Residential Plumber, Journeyman Plumber, Master Plumber, WSPS, Medical Gas, Natural Gas) · State Plumbing Board of Louisiana · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related