South Carolina trade license reciprocity
How South Carolina licenses each trade and level, who it reciprocates with, and where a South Carolina license goes.
Electricians
South Carolina journeyman electrician · “Journeyman Electrician certification (CAGC SC Trades Certification, formerly MASC)”
Licensed by cities and counties
Issued by Local building departments, using the CAGC SC Trades Certification (formerly MASC) journeyman card
South Carolina has no state journeyman electrician license. The LLR Contractor's Licensing Board licenses mechanical contractors (entities qualified by an individual qualifying party) for electrical work over $10,000 and the Residential Builders Commission licenses residential electricians, and neither chapter of the contractor law creates a journeyman credential; an electrician who is not a contractor works under one of those licensees without any state license. The journeyman-level credential that does exist is the journeyman electrician card of the SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program, run since 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (the association of the state's cities) and, since January 1, 2026, by the Carolinas AGC Foundation; the program's own page says the card is not a license and must not be represented as one. Whether a card is needed depends on the city or county building department, and the local ordinances themselves is not stated in the board's published materials on this verification date. No reciprocity or out-of-state acceptance is published for the journeyman card, so an arriving journeyman should expect to document two years of experience, pay the $35 application fee and take the Prov exam if a local jurisdiction or employer requires the card; the card's master-level counterpart is what LLR accepts toward the state contractor licenses.
How local licensing works in South Carolina
How local licensing works. State law licenses contractors, not electricians: S.C. Code § 40-11-30 requires a Contractor's Licensing Board license (Mechanical Contractor, Electrical classification) for mechanical contracting work whose total cost exceeds $10,000, and Chapter 59 requires a Residential Builders Commission license for residential specialty (electrical) work over $500. Employees of those licensees need no state credential. The Contractor's Licensing Board home page lists no journeyman license, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses the residential electrician, not a journeyman.
The trades certification card. The SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program was created in 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina, the statewide association of cities, to give municipalities a common examination and certification for journeyman and master electricians, plumbers, HVAC and gas fitters. MASC handed the program to the Carolinas AGC Foundation on January 1, 2026; cards issued by MASC remain valid until the expiration printed on them, and CAGC now issues verification letters. CAGC charges a $35 application fee, uses PROV as its exam provider, and states that the card 'should not be confused with' the LLR mechanical contractor or residential specialty licenses and that a holder 'will not represent to anyone that the ... trade certification card is evidence of a license'. The master electrician card (issued by exam by MASC between December 1990 and December 2025, or by CAGC after January 1, 2026) is accepted by LLR as a technical-exam waiver for both the Mechanical Contractor Electrical classification and the Residential Electrician license, which is the card's main statewide use.
Which cities require it. Requirements are set by each city or county building department. An out-of-state journeyman can work for a licensed South Carolina contractor without any state credential and, if a card is required locally, applies to CAGC with two years of documented experience.
South Carolina master electrician · “Mechanical Contractor, Electrical (EL) classification - Qualifying Party certification”
Statewide license
South Carolina has no 'master electrician' license. The highest person-held electrical credential is the Contractor's Licensing Board's Qualifying Party certification in the Electrical (EL) classification of the Mechanical Contractor license: the individual passes the South Carolina electrical technical exam (or the NASCLA Accredited Electrical exam) and the South Carolina Business Management & Law for Commercial Contractors exam, documents two years of experience within the past five, and is certified as the primary qualifying party for a licensed entity (which may be a sole proprietorship); the certification stays with the person and can be transferred to another licensee. The license itself is issued to the business, with a $350 licensure fee and a financial statement or surety bond sized by license group (Mechanical Group 2, jobs to $50,000: working capital $10,000 or net worth $15,000, or a $15,000 bond). A residential-only alternative is the Residential Builders Commission's Residential Electrician license ($135 application, $220 license), issued to the individual after one year of residential experience and the residential technical plus Business Management and Law exams. South Carolina has technical-exam waiver agreements, listed in the Board's Reciprocity/Waiver Agreements document, that cover the electrical classification for Alabama, Georgia (Un-Restricted), Mississippi, North Carolina (Limited, Intermediate and Unlimited with matching group limits), Ohio, Reading (Pennsylvania), Tennessee (CE) and Utah (Master Electrician exams passed before May 2017), plus the MASC/CAGC Master Electrician card and the NASCLA Accredited Electrical exam; every waiver applicant must still pass the South Carolina Business Management & Law exam. Licensees from other states take the South Carolina (or NASCLA) technical exam.
HVAC Technicians
South Carolina journeyman HVAC technician · “Journeyman HVAC trade certification card (CAGC SC Trades Certification, formerly MASC) - not a state license”
Licensed by cities and counties
Issued by Local building departments, using the CAGC SC Trades Certification (formerly MASC) journeyman card
South Carolina has no state journeyman HVAC license. The LLR Contractor's Licensing Board licenses mechanical contractors (entities qualified by an individual qualifying party) for air-conditioning, heating and refrigeration work over $10,000, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses Residential HVAC Installers and Repairers for residential work over $500; neither chapter of the contractor law creates a journeyman or technician credential, so an HVAC technician who is not a contractor works under one of those licensees with no state license. The journeyman-level credential that does exist is the trade certification card of the SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program, run since 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (the association of the state's cities) and, since January 1, 2026, by the Carolinas AGC Foundation; the program's own page says the card is not a license and must not be represented as one. No reciprocity or out-of-state acceptance is published for the journeyman card, so an arriving technician should expect to apply to CAGC ($35 application, PROV exam) if a local jurisdiction or employer requires a card. EPA Section 608 certification is federal and required of everyone handling refrigerants regardless of any South Carolina card.
How local licensing works in South Carolina
How local licensing works. State law licenses contractors, not technicians: S.C. Code § 40-11-30 requires a Contractor's Licensing Board license (Mechanical Contractor with the Air Conditioning, Heating, Refrigeration or Packaged Equipment classification) for mechanical contracting work whose total cost exceeds $10,000, and Chapter 59 requires a Residential Builders Commission license for residential heating and air-conditioning work over $500. Employees of those licensees need no state credential. The Contractor's Licensing Board home page lists no journeyman license, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses the Residential HVAC Installer and Repairer, not a journeyman.
The trades certification card. The SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program was created in 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina to give municipalities a common examination and certification for the mechanical trades. MASC handed the program to the Carolinas AGC Foundation on January 1, 2026; cards issued by MASC remain valid until the expiration printed on them, and CAGC now issues verification letters. CAGC charges a $35 application fee ($35 to re-test), uses PROV as its exam provider, and states that the card 'should not be confused with' the LLR mechanical contractor or residential specialty licenses and that a holder will not represent the card as evidence of a license. The master-level HVAC card, the HARV (Master Mechanical) certification issued by exam by MASC between September 7, 2013 and December 2025 or by CAGC after January 1, 2026, is accepted by LLR as a technical-exam waiver for the Mechanical Contractor Air Conditioning and Heating classifications and for the Residential HVAC Installer and Repairer license, which is the card's main statewide use. Technicians should ask the local building department where they will work.
Out-of-state holders. Neither CAGC nor MASC publishes reciprocity for journeyman licenses from other states, and LLR's waiver agreements apply only to contractor-level exams. An out-of-state journeyman or HVAC technician can work for a licensed South Carolina contractor without any state credential and, if a card is required locally, applies to CAGC.
South Carolina master HVAC technician · “Mechanical Contractor, Air Conditioning (AC) / Heating (HT) / Refrigeration (RG) classification - Qualifying Party certification”
Statewide license
South Carolina has no 'master HVAC' license. The highest person-held HVAC credential is the Contractor's Licensing Board's Qualifying Party certification in the Air Conditioning (AC), Heating (HT), Refrigeration (RG) or Packaged Equipment (PK, up to 25 tons and 500,000 BTU per unit) classification of the Mechanical Contractor license: the individual passes the South Carolina technical exam for each classification through PSI and the South Carolina Business Management & Law for Commercial Contractors exam, documents two years of experience within the past five (or a PHCC Academy of North Carolina heating and air-conditioning apprenticeship), and is certified as the qualifying party for a licensed entity (which may be a sole proprietorship); the certification stays with the person, who 'is not a licensed contractor' alone. The license itself is issued to the business, with a $350 licensure fee and a financial statement or surety bond sized by license group (Mechanical Group 2, jobs to $100,000: working capital $10,000 or net worth $15,000, or a $15,000 bond). A residential-only alternative is the Residential Builders Commission's Residential HVAC Installer and Repairer license ($135 application, $220 license), issued to the individual after one year of residential HVAC experience and the residential technical plus Business Management and Law exams. South Carolina has technical-exam waiver agreements, listed in the Board's Technical Exam Waiver Agreement List (revised May 2026), covering HVAC classifications for Alabama (Heating and Air Conditioning, Refrigeration), Georgia (Unrestricted Conditioned Air), Louisiana (Statewide Mechanical), North Carolina (Heating Groups 1, 2 and 3), Ohio (HVAC, packaged equipment only), Tennessee (CMC and CMC-C), Texas (Class A and Class B air conditioning and refrigeration) and Utah (HVAC, warm air heating, refrigerated air conditioning and refrigeration exams passed before May 2017), plus the MASC/CAGC HARV Master Mechanical card. Alabama, Mississippi and North Carolina licenses obtained by exam and held for a year also waive the technical exam for the residential license. Every waiver applicant must still pass the South Carolina Business Management & Law exam. Licensees from other states take the South Carolina technical exam. EPA Section 608 certification is a separate federal requirement.
Plumbers
South Carolina journeyman plumber · “Journeyman plumber trade certification card (CAGC SC Trades Certification, formerly MASC) - not a state license”
Licensed by cities and counties
South Carolina has no state journeyman plumber license. The LLR Contractor's Licensing Board licenses mechanical contractors (entities qualified by an individual qualifying party) for mechanical contracting work over $10,000, including the Plumbing (PB) classification confirmed on the Board's Reciprocity/Waiver Agreements list, and the Residential Builders Commission licenses residential specialty contractors for residential work over $500; neither Chapter 11 nor Chapter 59 of Title 40 creates a journeyman or master plumber credential, so a plumber who is not a contractor works under one of those licensees with no state license. The journeyman-level credential that does exist is the trade certification card of the SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program, run since 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina (the association of the state's cities) and, since January 1, 2026, by the Carolinas AGC Foundation; the program's own page says the card is not a license and must not be represented as one. Whether a card is needed depends on the city or county building department. No reciprocity or out-of-state acceptance is published for the journeyman card, so an arriving journeyman plumber should expect to apply to CAGC ($35 application, PROV exam) if a local jurisdiction or employer requires a card.
How local licensing works in South Carolina
How local licensing works. State law licenses contractors, not journeyman plumbers. S.C. Code § 40-11-30 requires a Contractor's Licensing Board license (Mechanical Contractor) for mechanical contracting work whose total cost exceeds $10,000. Chapter 59 requires a Residential Builders Commission license for residential specialty contracting work over $500. Employees of those licensees need no state plumber credential. The Contractor's Licensing Board home page lists no journeyman license.
The trades certification card. The SC Mechanical Trades Certification Program was created in 1965 by the Municipal Association of South Carolina to give municipalities a common examination and certification for the mechanical trades, including journeyman and master plumbers. MASC handed the program to the Carolinas AGC Foundation on January 1, 2026; cards issued by MASC remain valid until the expiration printed on them. CAGC charges a $35 application fee ($35 to re-test), uses PROV as its exam provider, and states that the card should not be confused with the LLR mechanical contractor or residential specialty licenses and that a holder will not represent the card as evidence of a license. Journeyman plumber hours, exam outline and passing score are not stated on the CAGC or MASC program pages. Do not assume a city-issued plumber card. Confirm with each building official whether a CAGC/MASC journeyman plumber card, a local registration, or only a licensed contractor is required to pull plumbing permits or to work as an employee.
Out-of-state journeymen. There is no state path, no defaultPath, and no agreements at this level. A city or employer that wants a CAGC card will typically require the PROV exam; out-of-state journeyman plumber licenses are not described as accepted on the official pages used here.
- City of Charleston (Building Inspections)
- City of Columbia (Planning and Development Services)
- City of Greenville (Building & Permit Center)
- Greenville County (Building Safety)
- Horry County (Code Enforcement / Building)
South Carolina master plumber · “Mechanical Contractor, Plumbing (PB) classification - Qualifying Party certification”
Statewide license
South Carolina has no license titled 'master plumber'. The highest person-held plumbing credential is the Contractor's Licensing Board's Qualifying Party certification in the Plumbing (PB) classification of the Mechanical Contractor license. The individual passes the South Carolina Plumber technical exam through PSI (or holds a CAGC/MASC Master Plumber certification earned by exam, or a listed out-of-state waiver exam) and the South Carolina Business Management & Law for Commercial Contractors exam, documents two years of full-time experience within the past five years in the classification (or a PHCC Academy of North Carolina plumbing apprenticeship certificate), and is certified as the qualifying party for a licensed entity (which may be a sole proprietorship). The certification stays with the person; Doc. 168 states the certified qualifying party 'is not a licensed contractor' and the entity holds the license. The license fee is $350, with a financial statement or surety bond sized by mechanical group (Group 2, jobs to $100,000: working capital $10,000 or net worth $15,000, or a $15,000 bond). Work over $10,000 requires this license under § 40-11-30. The Board's waiver list accepts North Carolina Plumbing Class 1, Ohio Plumbing and Tennessee CMC or CMC-A exams in place of the plumbing technical exam; other out-of-state licensees take both South Carolina exams.
Contractors
South Carolina residential contractor · “Residential Builder License (RBB); limited "Residential Builder Exam Waiver" license on the waiver routes”
Statewide license
Issued by South Carolina Residential Builders Commission (SC LLR)
South Carolina licenses residential builders statewide through the Residential Builders Commission, a separate body from the Contractor’s Licensing Board that handles commercial work. A residential builder is anyone who constructs or superintends the construction, repair or improvement of a residential building not over three floors high and with no more than sixteen units in any single apartment building, where the undertaking costs more than $5,000. Unlike the commercial license, this one is held by the person: the $15,000 surety bond must name the individual as principal and cannot be in a company name, and you may only put a company on your license if you own at least 51 percent of it, otherwise the company applies for its own residential business Certificate of Authorization. Entry needs one year of residential building experience within the past five years, a credit report, the bond and both parts of the PSI examination. The technical part can be waived three ways: a current South Carolina General Contractor license in the Building (BD) or Limited Building (LB) classification, a current examined license held a year or more in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi or North Carolina, or the NASCLA Commercial General Building Contractor exam passed within the past three years. A license issued on any of those waiver routes is a limited one that does not allow the holder to perform the mechanical trades.
South Carolina general contractor · “General Contractor license, Building classification (Limited Building or Unlimited Building), Group 1-5”
Statewide license
Issued by South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board (SC LLR)
Commercial and unlimited building work in South Carolina runs through the Contractor’s Licensing Board, which licenses General Contractors for any general contracting where the total cost of construction is more than $10,000. The license belongs to the business, not to the person: an individual, corporation, LLC or partnership holds it and must designate a Primary Qualifying Party for each classification, an individual in a management role who personally passes the examinations, so an inbound contractor applies as or for the entity that will sign contracts and pull permits. The Building classification covers commercial, industrial, institutional, modular and all other building construction including residential structures, and carries the Wood Frame Structures, Nonstructural Renovation, Masonry, Pre-engineered Metal Buildings, Roofing, Structural Framing and Miscellaneous Metals subclassifications. Every license also carries a group limit driven by money rather than skill: Group 1 bids and jobs up to $100,000 through to Group 5 with no cap, each set by working capital, net worth or a surety bond. The qualifying party for a Group 1, 2 or 3 license passes either the limited building contractor examination or the unlimited general contractor examination, while Groups 4 and 5 require the unlimited examination, and structures built under a limited building examination are restricted to three stories.
Home Inspectors
South Carolina home inspector · “Residential Home Inspector”
Statewide license
Issued by South Carolina Residential Builders Commission (SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation)
South Carolina licenses home inspectors statewide, and the regulator is the same board that licenses residential builders and residential specialty contractors: the Residential Builders Commission at the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. Article 5 of Title 40, Chapter 59 makes the license necessary before anyone transacts home inspection business or holds out as a home inspector, and it applies to residences of no more than three floors and sixteen units. The license is personal. The Commission will not issue one to a partnership, corporation, firm or group, although a licensed inspector may inspect for a company or contract through one, and a firm in which the licensee owns less than 51 percent needs its own certificate of authorization. There is one tier and no apprentice, associate or trainee grade beneath it, so an experienced inspector arriving from another state applies for the full license directly. Code enforcement officials, licensed architects, engineers, general contractors and residential builders, and CL100 wood infestation inspectors are exempt within their own scope, but the article's conduct rules still bind them when they inspect. South Carolina requires no insurance, no surety bond and no continuing education of a licensed home inspector, which sets it apart from the builder side of the same Commission.