LicensebyState

Kansas to District of Columbia: journeyman plumber license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Kansas does not issue a statewide journeyman plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is District of Columbia's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state journeyman plumber from a state other than Maryland

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

The Board of Industrial Trades publishes a plumber-specific reciprocity bulletin only for Maryland. A journeyman plumber from any other state applies through the DLCP online portal as a new applicant with a passport-style photo, government ID, certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, and the $65 application fee, must show the 8,000-hour/4-year apprentice experience (or a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years, or equivalent), schedules the journeyman exam with PSI, and pays the $110 license fee. Two statutory routes can waive the exam: § 47-2853.122(b-1) requires the Board to accept a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate (completed apprenticeship, passed that organization's exam, designated journeyman, no discipline) in lieu of the exam and subsection (b), and § 47-2853.12(b) directs boards to waive the exam for a licensee in good standing of a state whose standards were at least as high as the District's and which admits DC licensees in a like manner, with § 47-2853.08 leaving the substantial-equivalence finding to the Board case by case. No District-law exam applies.

PSI exam fee is referred to 17 DCMR § 3500.3 and was not stated on the board page. Virginia plumbers are not named in the Reciprocity section or in the Maryland plumbing bulletin title.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years, or a mechanical-engineering degree plus at least 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master plumber or master gasfitter, or comparable experience the Board deems equivalent (D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(b)). Not required if applying under the national-certificate substitute in (b-1).

What you'll do to get licensed in District of Columbia

  1. 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($65). Application fee (non-refundable under D.C. Code § 47-2853.10), paid online with the DLCP application.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. DC Journeyman Plumber examination administered by PSI (schedule at psiexams.com or 855-557-0616 after Board processing); waived for holders of a recognized national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate under § 47-2853.122(b-1).
  3. 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. PSI examination fee, amount set by 17 DCMR § 3500.3 (not stated on the Board page).
  4. 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($110). Journeyman (all types) license fee, up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years (renewal $110).
  5. 5Other. Certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, 2x2 passport-style photo, and government-issued ID, uploaded with the online application (Board Plumbing/Gasfitting items-needed list).

Published fees on this path total $175, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Trade exam
  • Exam fee

How District of Columbia licenses journeyman plumbers

District of Columbia journeyman plumber · “Journeyman Plumber

Statewide license

Verified September 16, 2026· 5 sources

Issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)

The District of Columbia issues a person-held Journeyman Plumber license (the Board also licenses journeyman gasfitters as a related specialty) through the Board of Industrial Trades in the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP), the same board that licenses electricians and refrigeration mechanics. Under D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 a journeyman plumber must have worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years (a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master, or comparable experience the Board accepts, also qualifies) and then pass the PSI-administered exam, unless the applicant presents a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate that waives both the exam and the subsection (b) experience path. Fees are a $65 application fee and a $110 license fee for a term of up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The Board publishes a Maryland plumbing reciprocity bulletin; the Reciprocity section of the board page still describes only Maryland and Virginia electricians. No District-law exam applies to journeyman plumbers (§ 47-2853.12(c)(3)).

Moving to District of ColumbiaLeaving District of Columbia

Why Kansas has nothing to transfer

Kansas journeyman plumber

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Kansas has no statewide journeyman plumber license and no state plumbing board. K.S.A. 12-1508 and 12-1509 only set a framework for the counties and cities that choose to license plumbers: they must use the ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard exams, require a 75% score, verify two years of field experience (up to one year creditable from a 930-hour trade-school program), charge a uniform fee and require 12 hours of continuing education every two years, half of it code education. A journeyman certificate of competency earned that way is valid proof of competency in every other Kansas county or city that licenses plumbers without additional examination, but each jurisdiction still issues its own license and collects its own fee. Sedgwick County/Wichita (MABCD) and Topeka license journeyman plumbers individually; Johnson County licenses only plumbing contractors (Class DP) and issues no journeyman card. No Kansas jurisdiction found in this pass accepts another state's journeyman license in place of the exam (MABCD states it 'does not reciprocate with state testing'), so an out-of-state journeyman transfers only a qualifying ICC, IAPMO or Prometric score they may already hold, plus documented hours.

How local licensing works in Kansas

How local licensing works. Kansas has no state plumbing license, board or application. Under K.S.A. 12-1508 to 12-1509 a county or city that licenses plumbers must accept only the ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard plumbing exams (and may ask no other questions), require a 75% passing score, verify two years of field experience under a licensed journeyman or master (one year of which may be a trade-school program of at least 930 hours), set one uniform exam and license fee for all applicants, and require 12 hours of continuing education biennially or six annually with half in code education. A journeyman certificate of competency issued on a standard exam 'shall be valid proof of competency for licensure, without additional examination, in any county or city of the state', and the receiving jurisdiction must issue its own certificate for its uniform fee (K.S.A. 12-1509(b)-(c)). The Attorney General has opined that a city may not use home-rule power to add licensing requirements beyond the act (AG Op. 1999-42). Medical gas piping additionally requires ASSE Series 6000 certification (K.S.A. 12-1509(g)). Nothing in the act addresses licenses from other states.

Sedgwick County and Wichita (MABCD). Requires every journeyman plumber working in Wichita or unincorporated Sedgwick County to hold an MABCD trade certificate. Plumbing journeyman: one year of field experience plus one year of plumbing trade school, or two years of field experience (documented on company letterhead with a description of the work), and a 75% or better score on ICC K9R Plumbing with Gas, ICC 560 Journeyman Plumber with Gas or the IAPMO journeyman exam; submit Form 19A with the official passing letter, transcripts and experience proof and pay $35. Certificates run two years and renew for $35 with three trade-specific and three general CEUs per year (12 per cycle), with penalty hours if expired. MABCD no longer sponsors exams; candidates test through Pearson VUE (ICC) or IAPMO. Out-of-state treatment: 'MABCD does not reciprocate with state testing, only those exams listed below are approved for Sedgwick County.' An out-of-state journeyman license is not accepted as a substitute; the applicant needs a passing ICC K9R/560 or IAPMO score (many states' ICC national journeyman plumber exams are the same 560 series, but MABCD requires the official letter naming the exam) and documented hours.

Johnson County (Olathe, Overland Park, Lenexa, Shawnee and the other cities in the county program). Johnson County Contractor Licensing issues contractor licenses only; there is no journeyman plumber license. Plumbing work is done by a company holding a Class DP Plumbing Contractor license ($100 application plus $225 per license type, $225 annual renewal, $75 late fee from Feb. 1) whose qualifying individual has passed the ICC Master Plumbing with Gas exam (557/KGF). A journeyman arriving from another state works as an employee of a licensed DP contractor without any personal county license. Applications include the ICC passing certification or approved alternative education, liability and workers' compensation certificates, and can take up to 10 days. V art. 17 'Electrical, Mechanical and Plumbing Trade Licensing'; the Unified Government's Building Inspection trade licensing and Prometric testing program). What ports is (1) a passing score on an ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard journeyman plumber exam, documented by an official letter, and (2) verifiable field experience of at least two years. With those, the applicant obtains a certificate from the first Kansas jurisdiction they work in and can then be licensed in any other Kansas county or city without retesting under K.S.A. 12-1509(b), paying each jurisdiction's fee and meeting its CE.

Moving to KansasLeaving Kansas

Common questions

Do I have to take the District of Columbia journeyman plumber exam if I'm licensed in Kansas?
Yes. District of Columbia requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a District of Columbia journeyman plumber license from Kansas?
Published fees on this path total $175, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Kansas work hours count in District of Columbia?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward District of Columbia's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from District of Columbia to Kansas?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from District of Columbia to Kansas, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. D.C. Code § 47-2853.08 - Powers of the boards (reciprocity and endorsement) · D.C. Code § 47-2853.08(2) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  2. D.C. Code § 47-2853.12 - License, certification, and registration criteria; waiver · D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b)-(d), (l) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  3. D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 - Scope of practice for plumbers or gasfitters · D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  4. D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 - Plumbers or gasfitters: eligibility requirements · D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  5. DC DLCP - Board of Industrial Trades (plumbers/gasfitters: apply, exams, fees, reciprocity notices) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
  6. DC DLCP - Plumbing/Gasfitting license application instructions (linked from Board of Industrial Trades) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 16, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related