Kansas to District of Columbia: master plumber license reciprocity
Kansas does not issue a statewide master plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is District of Columbia's standard path for out-of-state applicants.
Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.
Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.
Out-of-state master plumber from a state other than Maryland
Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.
The Board of Industrial Trades publishes a plumber-specific reciprocity bulletin only for Maryland. A master plumber from any other state applies through the DLCP online portal as a new applicant with a passport-style photo, government ID, certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, and the $65 application fee, must document a valid journeyman plumber or gasfitter license (or the journeyman subsection (b) experience) plus at least 4 years of work as a journeyman plumber or gasfitter, schedules the master exam with PSI, and pays the $120 license fee. D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b) directs boards to waive the exam for an applicant licensed in good standing in a state whose standards were at least as high as the District's and which admits DC licensees in a like manner, and § 47-2853.08(2) lets the Board find another state's standards substantially equivalent and license by reciprocity or endorsement; an applicant may ask the Board to apply those provisions, but the board page describes no such process beyond the Maryland plumbing bulletin. The national-certificate substitute in § 47-2853.122(b-1) is written for the journeyman designation only. No District-law exam is published for master plumbers. A master who will serve as the designated master for a plumbing contractor must also satisfy the contractor bond requirement, which is a separate license.
PSI exam fee is referred to 17 DCMR § 3500.3 and was not stated on the board page. Whether journeyman years worked under an out-of-state license count toward the 4-year journeyman requirement, the plumbing-and-gasfitting contractor bond amount, and 17 DCMR plumbing chapter text were not confirmed.
At a glance
- Trade exam
- Required
- Law / code exam
- Not required
- Out-of-state hours
- Count toward eligibility
What you must already have
- Valid license as a journeyman plumber or gasfitter, or has met the journeyman requirements of D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(b)
- Worked as a journeyman plumber or journeyman gasfitter for at least 4 years (D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(c))
What you'll do to get licensed in District of Columbia
- 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($65). Application fee (non-refundable under D.C. Code § 47-2853.10), paid online with the DLCP application.
- 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. DC Master Plumber/Gasfitter examination administered by PSI (schedule at psiexams.com or 855-557-0616 after Board processing).
- 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. PSI examination fee, amount set by 17 DCMR § 3500.3 (not stated on the Board page).
- 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($120). Master (all types) license fee, up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years (renewal $155).
- 5Other. Certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, 2x2 passport-style photo, and government-issued ID, uploaded with the online application.
- 6Contractor license. Hold or obtain a contractor license (if applicable). Separate Plumbing Contractor license ($120 initial / $180 renewal) naming a designated DC-licensed master, with a Plumbing and Gasfitting Bond; not required to hold the person-held master license.
Published fees on this path total $185, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.
What you'll need to buy or arrange
Exam preparation
Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.
- Trade exam
- Exam fee
How District of Columbia licenses master plumbers
District of Columbia master plumber · “Master Plumber/Gasfitter”
Statewide license
Issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)
The District's highest person-held plumbing credential is the Master Plumber/Gasfitter license issued by the Board of Industrial Trades (DLCP); a Master Gasfitter specialty also exists. A Plumbing Contractor license is a separate business credential that must name a designated DC-licensed master and post a plumbing and gasfitting bond. Under D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(c) a master applicant must hold a valid journeyman plumber or gasfitter license, or have met the journeyman subsection (b) requirements, and have worked as a journeyman plumber or journeyman gasfitter for at least 4 years, then pass the PSI-administered master exam. Fees are a $65 application fee and a $120 master license fee for a term of up to 2 years ($155 on renewal); licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The Board publishes a Maryland plumbing-professionals reciprocity bulletin; no Virginia plumber reciprocity is named on the board page.
Why Kansas has nothing to transfer
Kansas master plumber
Licensed by cities and counties
Kansas issues no statewide master plumber or plumbing contractor license; the master credential exists only in county and city programs operating under K.S.A. 12-1508 and 12-1509. State law requires a master certificate to rest on a journeyman certificate held at least two years or four years of field experience, plus a 75% score on an ICC, IAPMO or Prometric standard master plumber exam, and makes a certificate earned that way valid proof of competency in every Kansas jurisdiction that licenses plumbers without additional examination. Sedgwick County/Wichita (MABCD) issues master plumber certificates ($35) on ICC K9F/557 Master Plumber with Gas or the IAPMO master exam; Johnson County uses the same ICC 557/KGF exam to qualify the individual behind a Class DP Plumbing Contractor license ($100 application plus $225 per license type); Topeka licenses trade contractors through a designated master with six hours of annual continuing education. None of the jurisdictions reviewed has a reciprocity agreement with another state, and MABCD states it 'does not reciprocate with state testing', so an out-of-state master plumber license transfers nothing except a qualifying ICC, IAPMO or Prometric score the applicant may already hold and documented experience. Lawrence and Kansas City, Kansas also license master plumbers, but their pages could not be retrieved in this pass.
How local licensing works in Kansas
How local licensing works. There is no state plumbing board. K.S.A. 12-1508 designates the ICC, IAPMO and Prometric standard exams for 'plumbing contractors and master and journeyman plumbers', and K.S.A. 12-1509 lets a county or city issue a master certificate of competency only after verifying that the applicant has held a valid journeyman certificate for at least two years or has at least four years of field experience, and has scored 75% on the standard master exam. That certificate 'shall be valid proof of competency for licensure, without additional examination, in any county or city of the state which requires licensure of plumbers'; each jurisdiction issues its own certificate for a uniform fee and requires 12 hours of continuing education biennially or six annually, half in code. Contracting (pulling permits and running a plumbing business) is licensed separately by each jurisdiction and generally requires a master-level qualifying individual plus insurance. The act is silent on out-of-state licenses; AG Op. 1999-42 says cities may not add licensure requirements beyond the act.
Sedgwick County and Wichita (MABCD). Plumbing master certificate ($35, Form 19A): must hold a plumbing journeyman certificate plus two years of field experience as a journeyman, or have four years of field experience, and score 75% or better on ICC K9F Master Plumber with Gas, ICC 557 Master Plumber with Gas or the IAPMO master exam, documented by an official passing letter. Certificates are good for two years and renew for $35 with three trade-specific and three general CEUs each year. MABCD 'does not reciprocate with state testing'; approved testing bodies are Block, Experior, Prometric, ICC and IAPMO, and MABCD no longer sponsors its own exams. Plumbing contractors are licensed separately by MABCD Contractor Licensing. Out-of-state treatment: an out-of-state master license is not accepted in lieu of the exam; a qualifying ICC 557-series or IAPMO master score plus documented experience is.
Johnson County. Does not license individuals. The master-level credential is the qualifying individual (QI) of a Class DP Plumbing Contractor license, who must present a verifiable passing score on ICC Master Plumbing with Gas (557/KGF); the county 'may be able to recognize ICC National exams if it can be verified to have a 75% or higher score.' The company pays a $100 application fee plus $225 per license type ($325 for one DP license), renews annually for $225 ($75 late fee from Feb. 1), and files general liability insurance, workers' compensation or a notarized waiver, and a Kansas Certificate of Good Standing if applicable; new applications are filed in person or by mail. A trade contractor's designated master must complete six hours of continuing education a year (three in the trade); licenses renew by December 14, fees are not prorated, and applications include the ICC passing certification or approved alternative education plus insurance and workers' compensation certificates (or a notarized exemption affidavit). V art. The applicant should obtain an official ICC (557/K9F/KGF series) or IAPMO master plumber passing letter (retesting through Pearson VUE or IAPMO if the origin exam was a state-specific test), document two years as a journeyman or four years of field experience, and apply to the first Kansas jurisdiction where they will work; under K.S.A. 12-1509(b) that certificate then supports licensure in every other Kansas county or city without another exam. A contractor license, insurance and, in Johnson County, a company-level Class DP license are separate requirements.
Common questions
- Do I have to take the District of Columbia master plumber exam if I'm licensed in Kansas?
- Yes. District of Columbia requires the trade exam on this path.
- What does it cost to get a District of Columbia master plumber license from Kansas?
- Published fees on this path total $185, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
- Do my Kansas work hours count in District of Columbia?
- Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward District of Columbia's eligibility requirements.
- Does it work the other way, from District of Columbia to Kansas?
- Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from District of Columbia to Kansas, the mechanism is not applicable.
Sources
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.08 - Powers of the boards (reciprocity and endorsement) · D.C. Code § 47-2853.08(2) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.12 - License, certification, and registration criteria; waiver · D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b)-(d), (l) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 - Scope of practice for plumbers or gasfitters · D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 - Plumbers or gasfitters: eligibility requirements · D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- DC DLCP - Board of Industrial Trades (plumbers/gasfitters: apply, exams, fees, reciprocity notices) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
- DC DLCP - Plumbing/Gasfitting license application instructions (linked from Board of Industrial Trades) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 16, 2026
Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.