Nebraska to District of Columbia: journeyman plumber license reciprocity
Nebraska does not issue a statewide journeyman plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is District of Columbia's standard path for out-of-state applicants.
Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.
Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.
Out-of-state journeyman plumber from a state other than Maryland
Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.
The Board of Industrial Trades publishes a plumber-specific reciprocity bulletin only for Maryland. A journeyman plumber from any other state applies through the DLCP online portal as a new applicant with a passport-style photo, government ID, certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, and the $65 application fee, must show the 8,000-hour/4-year apprentice experience (or a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years, or equivalent), schedules the journeyman exam with PSI, and pays the $110 license fee. Two statutory routes can waive the exam: § 47-2853.122(b-1) requires the Board to accept a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate (completed apprenticeship, passed that organization's exam, designated journeyman, no discipline) in lieu of the exam and subsection (b), and § 47-2853.12(b) directs boards to waive the exam for a licensee in good standing of a state whose standards were at least as high as the District's and which admits DC licensees in a like manner, with § 47-2853.08 leaving the substantial-equivalence finding to the Board case by case. No District-law exam applies.
PSI exam fee is referred to 17 DCMR § 3500.3 and was not stated on the board page. Virginia plumbers are not named in the Reciprocity section or in the Maryland plumbing bulletin title.
At a glance
- Trade exam
- Required
- Law / code exam
- Not required
- Out-of-state hours
- Count toward eligibility
What you must already have
- You must document at least 8,000 hours of qualifying work experience.Worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years, or a mechanical-engineering degree plus at least 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master plumber or master gasfitter, or comparable experience the Board deems equivalent (D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(b)). Not required if applying under the national-certificate substitute in (b-1).
What you'll do to get licensed in District of Columbia
- 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($65). Application fee (non-refundable under D.C. Code § 47-2853.10), paid online with the DLCP application.
- 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. DC Journeyman Plumber examination administered by PSI (schedule at psiexams.com or 855-557-0616 after Board processing); waived for holders of a recognized national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate under § 47-2853.122(b-1).
- 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. PSI examination fee, amount set by 17 DCMR § 3500.3 (not stated on the Board page).
- 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($110). Journeyman (all types) license fee, up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years (renewal $110).
- 5Other. Certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, 2x2 passport-style photo, and government-issued ID, uploaded with the online application (Board Plumbing/Gasfitting items-needed list).
Published fees on this path total $175, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.
What you'll need to buy or arrange
Exam preparation
Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.
- Trade exam
- Exam fee
How District of Columbia licenses journeyman plumbers
District of Columbia journeyman plumber · “Journeyman Plumber”
Statewide license
Issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)
The District of Columbia issues a person-held Journeyman Plumber license (the Board also licenses journeyman gasfitters as a related specialty) through the Board of Industrial Trades in the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP), the same board that licenses electricians and refrigeration mechanics. Under D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 a journeyman plumber must have worked as an apprentice plumber or gasfitter at least 8,000 hours over at least 4 years (a mechanical-engineering degree plus 2 years of practical experience verified by a licensed master, or comparable experience the Board accepts, also qualifies) and then pass the PSI-administered exam, unless the applicant presents a national certifying organization's journeyman plumber certificate that waives both the exam and the subsection (b) experience path. Fees are a $65 application fee and a $110 license fee for a term of up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The Board publishes a Maryland plumbing reciprocity bulletin; the Reciprocity section of the board page still describes only Maryland and Virginia electricians. No District-law exam applies to journeyman plumbers (§ 47-2853.12(c)(3)).
Why Nebraska has nothing to transfer
Nebraska journeyman plumber
Licensed by cities and counties
Nebraska has no statewide journeyman plumber license and no state plumbing board; the only construction trade the state licenses is electricians, and the only statewide requirement that touches a plumbing business is registration with the Department of Labor under the Contractor Registration Act ($40 per year from August 1, 2026, no exam). Journeyman plumbers are licensed by the cities that have adopted a plumbing code and examining board: Omaha's Plumbing Board (Omaha Municipal Code ch. 49), Lincoln's Building and Safety division, Grand Island's Building Services Division and others. Both Omaha and Lincoln examine every applicant themselves; neither waives its exam for an out-of-state license. Omaha lets a journeyman 'licensed in a city of equivalent size that requires similar qualification criteria' sit its exam in place of a four-year certified apprenticeship, and Lincoln lets anyone holding a journeyman or master plumbing license obtained by examination from another state or municipality take its exam 'without submitting any additional qualifications'. An out-of-state journeyman should expect to document hours, pass the city's written (and in Lincoln, practical) exam, and license separately in each city where they work.
How local licensing works in Nebraska
How local licensing works. Nebraska has no state plumbing license. The Contractor Registration Act requires every contracting business to register with the Department of Labor before working ($40 annual fee from August 1, 2026, plus a workers' compensation certificate when there are employees), but registration is not a competency license and applies to the business, not the tradesperson. Individual journeyman licensing exists only in cities whose ordinances create it, and each city examines its own applicants.
Omaha. The Planning Department's Plumbing Board licenses Journeyman Plumbers, Master Plumbers and registered Apprentice Plumbers under Omaha Municipal Code chapter 49. To sit the journeyman exam (Sec. 49-241) an applicant shows one of: a four-consecutive-year city-certified apprenticeship; an equivalent course of study with matching classroom and on-the-job hours; at least seven consecutive years of training with 300+ hours each year and 7,000 hours total; a journeyman license from 'a city of equivalent size that requires similar qualification criteria'; or, if the applicant's community requires no instruction for a license, a properly issued license or eight consecutive years (300+ hours/year, 14,000 hours) at the Board's discretion. Applications are due by 9:00 AM on the 15th of March, June, September and December for exams in May, August, November and February; the journeyman test fee is $54.00, and the form asks for copies of every current or expired plumbing license with the origin exam's format (written questions, drawing, practical, open book). Passed sections carry forward for three test dates. After passing, the journeyman license costs $1.00 plus a $19.50 identification badge and $1.64 technology fee, renewing at the same price with 8 continuing-education hours; apprentice registration is $20.00 + $1.60 with Board approval. Out-of-state treatment: an out-of-town license serves only as evidence of eligibility to test; the plumbing pages and exam application contain no exam waiver or reciprocity provision, and the only reciprocal-license process Omaha publishes is for Building Contractor licenses.
Lincoln. Building and Safety issues a Plumbing Journeyman certificate after at least four years of practical experience in the design, layout, construction or installation of plumbing equipment (one year of credit per year as a registered apprentice; two years for a four-year engineering degree; one year for a Board-approved course; three years for a Nebraska-registered professional mechanical engineer; military and adult-education training at the Board's discretion) and passing the city exam. The exam is given the third Thursday of February, May, August and November at the ABC Training Center, 830 West Gate Boulevard: a two-hour copper practical project at 6:30 a.m. (applicant supplies pipe, fittings, solder, torch and tools) and a five-hour written exam at 9:00 a.m. based on the 2018 UPC with Lincoln amendments and the Lincoln Gas Piping Code (LMC 24.05). Exam filing fee $183, due two weeks before the exam. The annual journeyman registration is $50 (apprentice $25), renewed March 1-May 31 with 6 CEU hours; a lapse beyond 60 days revokes the license and requires retesting. Out-of-state treatment: 'An applicant holding a valid Journeyman or Contractor/Master Plumbing License or Certificate, received by examination from another state or Municipal Governmental agency, shall be entitled to take the equivalent respective City of Lincoln Journeyman or Contractors examination without submitting any additional qualifications.' The experience review is waived; the exam is not.
Grand Island. The Building Services Division requires plumbers to be 'individually licensed as a master, journeyman, or registered as an apprentice' and to work under a city-licensed plumbing contracting company. Applications, exams and renewals run through the CitizenServe portal, which (per an earlier read of the page) offers both an exam application and a license-reciprocity application, but the city publishes no experience thresholds, exam identifiers, fees or list of accepted jurisdictions online.
Bellevue, Kearney, Norfolk and other cities also license plumbers under their own codes but were not verified in this pass; Bellevue's Permits and Inspections documents page (linked below) posts contractor testing information for plumbing contractors. Treat every city as a separate licensing authority and confirm current requirements with the local building department before working.
Common questions
- Do I have to take the District of Columbia journeyman plumber exam if I'm licensed in Nebraska?
- Yes. District of Columbia requires the trade exam on this path.
- What does it cost to get a District of Columbia journeyman plumber license from Nebraska?
- Published fees on this path total $175, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
- Do my Nebraska work hours count in District of Columbia?
- Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward District of Columbia's eligibility requirements.
- Does it work the other way, from District of Columbia to Nebraska?
- Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from District of Columbia to Nebraska, the mechanism is not applicable.
Sources
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.08 - Powers of the boards (reciprocity and endorsement) · D.C. Code § 47-2853.08(2) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.12 - License, certification, and registration criteria; waiver · D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b)-(d), (l) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 - Scope of practice for plumbers or gasfitters · D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 - Plumbers or gasfitters: eligibility requirements · D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
- DC DLCP - Board of Industrial Trades (plumbers/gasfitters: apply, exams, fees, reciprocity notices) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
- DC DLCP - Plumbing/Gasfitting license application instructions (linked from Board of Industrial Trades) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 16, 2026
Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.