LicensebyState

Nebraska to District of Columbia: master plumber license reciprocity

No credit· Start overVerified September 16, 2026· 6 sources

Nebraska does not issue a statewide master plumber license, so there is nothing to transfer. Here is District of Columbia's standard path for out-of-state applicants.

Your origin state does not issue a statewide license at this level, so there is no license to transfer. The destination's standard out-of-state path is shown; expect to meet it in full.

Reference only, not legal advice. Rules change; confirm with the licensing board before you apply. Full disclaimer.

Out-of-state master plumber from a state other than Maryland

Your out-of-state credentials give no advantage. You meet the destination's requirements from scratch.

The Board of Industrial Trades publishes a plumber-specific reciprocity bulletin only for Maryland. A master plumber from any other state applies through the DLCP online portal as a new applicant with a passport-style photo, government ID, certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, and the $65 application fee, must document a valid journeyman plumber or gasfitter license (or the journeyman subsection (b) experience) plus at least 4 years of work as a journeyman plumber or gasfitter, schedules the master exam with PSI, and pays the $120 license fee. D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b) directs boards to waive the exam for an applicant licensed in good standing in a state whose standards were at least as high as the District's and which admits DC licensees in a like manner, and § 47-2853.08(2) lets the Board find another state's standards substantially equivalent and license by reciprocity or endorsement; an applicant may ask the Board to apply those provisions, but the board page describes no such process beyond the Maryland plumbing bulletin. The national-certificate substitute in § 47-2853.122(b-1) is written for the journeyman designation only. No District-law exam is published for master plumbers. A master who will serve as the designated master for a plumbing contractor must also satisfy the contractor bond requirement, which is a separate license.

PSI exam fee is referred to 17 DCMR § 3500.3 and was not stated on the board page. Whether journeyman years worked under an out-of-state license count toward the 4-year journeyman requirement, the plumbing-and-gasfitting contractor bond amount, and 17 DCMR plumbing chapter text were not confirmed.

At a glance

Trade exam
Required
Law / code exam
Not required
Out-of-state hours
Count toward eligibility

What you must already have

  • Valid license as a journeyman plumber or gasfitter, or has met the journeyman requirements of D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(b)
  • Worked as a journeyman plumber or journeyman gasfitter for at least 4 years (D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(c))

What you'll do to get licensed in District of Columbia

  1. 1Application fee. Pay the application fee ($65). Application fee (non-refundable under D.C. Code § 47-2853.10), paid online with the DLCP application.
  2. 2Trade exam. Pass the destination's trade exam. DC Master Plumber/Gasfitter examination administered by PSI (schedule at psiexams.com or 855-557-0616 after Board processing).
  3. 3Exam fee. Pay the exam fee. PSI examination fee, amount set by 17 DCMR § 3500.3 (not stated on the Board page).
  4. 4License fee. Pay the license or certificate fee ($120). Master (all types) license fee, up to 2 years; plumber and gasfitter licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years (renewal $155).
  5. 5Other. Certificate of completion and/or employment verification letter, 2x2 passport-style photo, and government-issued ID, uploaded with the online application.
  6. 6Contractor license. Hold or obtain a contractor license (if applicable). Separate Plumbing Contractor license ($120 initial / $180 renewal) naming a designated DC-licensed master, with a Plumbing and Gasfitting Bond; not required to hold the person-held master license.

Published fees on this path total $185, excluding exam-vendor fees, bonds, and insurance.

What you'll need to buy or arrange

Exam preparation

Most boards contract PSI, Prov, or ICC for exams. Check which code edition the exam is written to before buying a prep course.

  • Trade exam
  • Exam fee

How District of Columbia licenses master plumbers

District of Columbia master plumber · “Master Plumber/Gasfitter

Statewide license

Verified September 16, 2026· 4 sources

Issued by DC Board of Industrial Trades (Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)

The District's highest person-held plumbing credential is the Master Plumber/Gasfitter license issued by the Board of Industrial Trades (DLCP); a Master Gasfitter specialty also exists. A Plumbing Contractor license is a separate business credential that must name a designated DC-licensed master and post a plumbing and gasfitting bond. Under D.C. Code § 47-2853.122(c) a master applicant must hold a valid journeyman plumber or gasfitter license, or have met the journeyman subsection (b) requirements, and have worked as a journeyman plumber or journeyman gasfitter for at least 4 years, then pass the PSI-administered master exam. Fees are a $65 application fee and a $120 master license fee for a term of up to 2 years ($155 on renewal); licenses expire March 31 of even-numbered years. The Board publishes a Maryland plumbing-professionals reciprocity bulletin; no Virginia plumber reciprocity is named on the board page.

Moving to District of ColumbiaLeaving District of Columbia

Why Nebraska has nothing to transfer

Nebraska master plumber

Licensed by cities and counties

Verified September 16, 2026· 9 sources

Nebraska issues no statewide master plumber or plumbing contractor license. The state licenses electricians only; a plumbing business must register with the Department of Labor under the Contractor Registration Act ($40 per year from August 1, 2026), which involves no exam and confers no trade competency. The master credential exists only in city ordinances: Omaha's Master Plumber (four years as an Omaha-licensed journeyman or equivalent standing in a comparable city, Plumbing Board exam, $10,000 bond and $1,000,000 liability insurance), Lincoln's Plumbing Master certificate (one year as a Lincoln journeyman or an engineering qualification, city exam, $250 Master Contractor registration and $500,000 insurance) and Grand Island's master plumber license. Neither Omaha nor Lincoln waives its examination for a master license from another state; Omaha accepts 'evidence of qualifying as a master plumber in a city of equivalent size that requires similar qualification criteria' as eligibility to test, and Lincoln admits any master or contractor licensed by examination elsewhere directly to its master exam without further qualifications. A contractor working in more than one Nebraska city needs a separate license in each plus the state registration.

How local licensing works in Nebraska

How local licensing works. There is no state plumbing board. The Contractor Registration Act requires every contracting business to register with the Department of Labor ($40 per year from August 1, 2026, workers' compensation certificate if there are employees), but the master plumber license that lets someone pull permits and run a plumbing business comes from each city's ordinance and examining board.

Omaha. The Master Plumber license is issued by the Plumbing Board under Omaha Municipal Code chapter 49. To sit the master exam (Sec. 49-231) an applicant shows one of: four consecutive years of experience installing plumbing systems while holding a journeyman license issued by the city; 'evidence of qualifying as a master plumber in a city of equivalent size that requires similar qualification criteria'; or, where the applicant's community requires no instruction for a license, a properly issued license or 12 consecutive years of experience (300+ hours each year, 21,000 hours total) at the Board's discretion. Applications are due by 9:00 AM on the 15th of March, June, September and December for exams in May, August, November and February; the master test fee is $81.00, and copies of all current or expired licenses plus notarized proof of employment hours are required. The master license costs $100.00 + $8.00 technology fee ('Exam Required') and renews for $75.00 + $6.00 with 8 continuing-education hours; before working as a contractor the master files a surety bond of at least $10,000.00 and liability insurance of at least $1,000,000.00 with [email protected]. Out-of-state treatment: an out-of-state or other-city master license can satisfy the eligibility requirement to test, but the Omaha exam is not waived and no reciprocity path is published for plumbers (Omaha's reciprocal-license process covers Building Contractor licenses only).

Lincoln. A Plumbing Master certificate requires holding a valid City of Lincoln Plumbing Journeyman certificate for at least one year, or a mechanical engineering degree from an accredited college plus two years of practical experience planning, laying out, supervising and installing plumbing equipment, or registration as a professional mechanical engineer in Nebraska, and passing the city exam (third Thursday of February, May, August and November; copper practical project plus a five-hour written exam on the 2018 UPC with Lincoln amendments and the Lincoln Gas Piping Code). Master exam filing fee $208. Annual registration: Plumbing Master Contractor $250 or non-contracting Master $75, renewed March 1-May 31 with 10 CEU hours; a lapse beyond 60 days revokes the license and requires retesting. A plumbing contractor also files a general liability certificate of at least $500,000 per occurrence naming the City of Lincoln as additional insured and listing the master plumber by name as an insured; a $5,000 bond is needed only for work in the city right-of-way. Out-of-state treatment: 'An applicant holding a valid Journeyman or Contractor/Master Plumbing License or Certificate, received by examination from another state or Municipal Governmental agency, shall be entitled to take the equivalent respective City of Lincoln Journeyman or Master examination without submitting any additional qualifications.' The one-year Lincoln journeyman prerequisite is bypassed; the exam is not.

Grand Island. Plumbing contracting companies must be licensed with the Building Services Division, and the individuals doing the work must hold a city master or journeyman license or apprentice registration and work under a licensed company. Exam and reciprocity applications are filed through the CitizenServe portal; the city publishes no thresholds, fees or accepted jurisdictions online, so contact Building Services at (308) 385-5444.

Bellevue and other cities license master plumbers and plumbing contractors under their own ordinances; Bellevue's Permits and Inspections documents page posts contractor testing information for plumbing contractors, but its requirements were not verified in this pass.

Moving to NebraskaLeaving Nebraska

Common questions

Do I have to take the District of Columbia master plumber exam if I'm licensed in Nebraska?
Yes. District of Columbia requires the trade exam on this path.
What does it cost to get a District of Columbia master plumber license from Nebraska?
Published fees on this path total $185, not counting exam vendor fees or bonds.
Do my Nebraska work hours count in District of Columbia?
Yes. Documented out-of-state experience counts toward District of Columbia's eligibility requirements.
Does it work the other way, from District of Columbia to Nebraska?
Not necessarily. Reciprocity is directed. Going from District of Columbia to Nebraska, the mechanism is not applicable.

Sources

  1. D.C. Code § 47-2853.08 - Powers of the boards (reciprocity and endorsement) · D.C. Code § 47-2853.08(2) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  2. D.C. Code § 47-2853.12 - License, certification, and registration criteria; waiver · D.C. Code § 47-2853.12(b)-(d), (l) · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  3. D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 - Scope of practice for plumbers or gasfitters · D.C. Code § 47-2853.121 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  4. D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 - Plumbers or gasfitters: eligibility requirements · D.C. Code § 47-2853.122 · Council of the District of Columbia · Statute · verified September 16, 2026
  5. DC DLCP - Board of Industrial Trades (plumbers/gasfitters: apply, exams, fees, reciprocity notices) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP) · Agency Page · verified September 16, 2026
  6. DC DLCP - Plumbing/Gasfitting license application instructions (linked from Board of Industrial Trades) · District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection, Occupational and Professional Licensing · Form · verified September 16, 2026

Verified dates are when a person last opened each source and confirmed the facts above. Cite the board, not us.

Report an error on this page

Related